Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wow! Like one person already posted, I had heard about making popcorn this way, but have never actually tried it. Followed recipe exactly, did not need to staple bag, stood bag up in the microwave and after two minutes on full power, bag was filled with tender white, perfectly popped kernels and only a very few were unpopped in the bottom of the bag. My teens are addicted to the store bought prepackaged popcorn (with all the additives), and so I did use the oil called for and my son sprinkled salt on his after popping. For me, I will take other reviewers advice and skip the oil and no salt for me. Tasty, healthy, super easy snack. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We did this at work but left the oil out entirely and it was fine! We found our magic amount to be 1/4 cup in a brown lunch bag. We seasoned a variety of ways: salt, cinnamon/artificial sweetener, tabasco sauce, ICBINB spray. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
tried it with olive oil to start and later with nothing, and it really doesn't taste any different so I skipped the oil altogether. My only issue is that regular brown bags don't seem to be big enough. I only use about 1/3 cup of corn and the bag is super full (I used one staple as suggested) and it ends up falling over. Am going to try putting the beg standing up inside a bowl to see if that helps. Still a wonderful recipe :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This works great with 1/4 cup of popcorn. I pop it without the oil, and add melted butter and truffle salt (the smallest pinch will do) after it's popped. Addictive!!! Try mixing a small pinch of truffle salt into eggs too, before scrambling them. So delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I believe ACONTORER, so thanks for submitting. My son was so amazed!! We didn't have to take out the air popper and make a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Totally amazing! BUT, 1. Don't use oil. You can pop it without (works perfect) 2. Staple the bag. (Don't worry it won't spark in the microwave) 3. Melt 1 tablespoon butter and spread after (1 tb. butter is 35 cal. where 1 tsp. oil is 70 cal.) 4. Reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp - or to taste. 5. Make lots - everyone will want some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is great! A little trial & error gave us great results! Best of all, no artificial taste or smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Did not work...BLEW UP MY MICROWAVE!!! Save your home from the risk of fire! Pop your popcorn the stove...with a pot...OR...buy actual microwave popcorn! It may be a tad bit expensive...but, trust me, it is a heck of a lot cheaper than buying a new microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Frugal & Fabulous! I am always looking to save money & when I can do so as well as improve on the store version, I am thrilled! This microwave popcorn tip is so simple, thrifty & tasty! To make it even MORE economical I used a clear glass Pyrex type dish with lid. No need to buy bags & no worry about reviews that mentioned blowing up microwaves! Another perk is the kids can watch it pop & you can see when it needs to be stopped, so no over or under cooking. Just be sure to use oven mitts to remove the bowl & you can then add seasoning to taste & eat out of the same bowl. Your own microwave popcorn for pennies plus eating out of the same bowl is nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I can't believe I'm just learning of this! I used a 1/4 cup popcorn, no oil or salt and with my microwave it took exactly a minute and a half to pop. So incredibly easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaBeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cold Spring, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States