Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe is definitely a keeper for me! I made it using bag and veg. oil, and also using glass Pyrex bowl with lid and coconut oil. I microwaved the bag for 1 min. 45 sec. which resulted in some burnt popcorn. I microwaved the bowl for 2 min. and got no burnt kernels! It actually turned out tastier in the bowl too because of the coconut oil, which gave it a delicious aroma as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Be sure to get good popping corn! The first bag I got (NoName) didn't pop very much at all, the kernels were very small. I had always popped my corn in a pot, and one day I got some microwave popcorn. Out of curiosity, I opened the bag... I nearly fainted! It was a mass of congealed fat with some corn embedded in it... disgusting! I threw away the whole box. Thank you for this recipe. I didn't use the oil and I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bisaillon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Perfect and easy recipe! Just what I was looking for!! They are saying more that the addatives used to line the microwave popcorn bag will stay in your body for years and accumulate (and could possibly be cancerous). I threw out all of our microwave popcorn, which I should have done a long time ago, and search for a recipe. This is exactally what we needed!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
You don't need to use oil or anything. It works just fine with plain popcorn and a microwave. Also, adjust the time depending on your microwave, mine only takes 1 min & 45 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Finally decided to try popping corn from scratch instead of one of those commercial microwave popcorns. I couldn't believe how simple this was. And so much healthier since there wasn't much oil at all. I thought 1/2 tsp salt might be too much but it was just right. I also added 1/4 tsp garlic powder with the salt and oil. Yum. This little bit of popcorn actually burst through the bag because it made so much. After 2-1/2 minutes my corn was still popping but I could smell burning so I stopped the cooking. I'll never buy microwave popcorn again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great, easy way to make popcorn if you don't have a machine. Just don't try to pop the kernels that didn't pop the first time, they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I make this without any added oil. I salt it AFTER it's popped. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Wonderful and healthy. Fold twice, tear or cut off a corner for steam and keep upright. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jencramer65
Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This recipe is a 5++, because it worked with absolutely no problem. I used a standard brown lunch bag. I mixed in the oil, salt, and popcorn into a measuring cup and then poured it into the bag. I folded it over at the top, as suggested, and then placed it folded side down on a large plate. I have a small microwave, so it took 3 1/2 minutes. I loved how ungreasy the popcorn tastes. It costs next to nothing to make to. Thank you, I will never buy popcorn in a bag again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I tried this and it worked great. I also used olive oil. I have an atomizer so I was able to lightly and evenly spray the oil on the kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States