Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I use a quarter cup popcorn, no oil, no salt for a 1:45 minutes. I guess it depends on the popcorn & how big your bag is, but that's all that will fit once popped. I just lay it flat, kind of like the storebought microwave kind, with the folded side down. Let it sit till you don't hear any more popping. Pour in a bowl, shot of butterflavored spray & a little salt. Toss & repeat. 'Seems oil & salt in the microwave aren't good ideas. Oil & paper? I'm thinking fire. Salt zapping the food you hear about all the time - to wait to add it till it's done. :? :) ... Anyway, that's how this girl does it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It works! This is great - you can make salt free popcorn if you have to watch your sodium intake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I hate the microwave popcorn that comes from the grocery store and usually make my popcorn stove top;but, that takes a bit more time, so I gave this a try. It is great! Be sure to mix the ingredients in a bowl first. I was lazy and tried mixing it right in the bag and while it did work, it clumped in the bottom. The second batch was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I love this method of making popcorn because I can control the fat and salt! It's less expensive than buying pre-packaged microwave popcorn. I usually fold the bag once and add 1 staple. It never sparks in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
simple and easy to make with almost no prep and no clean up. I didn't put anything on the popcorn and it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Easy, inexpensive, and yummy! I do not use oil to cook but spray with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Spray when it comes out of the microwave. It only takes a few sprays, and it also helps the salt stick to it. What a super snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
So easy! It popped up great! Will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have tried this 2 times now and it has worked out fabulously! To all of the reviewers and readers who say that the bottom of the bag has blown out on them or that there were too many unpopped kernels, I would like to offer you some advice to fixing these problems. First, I sprayed one bag with canola oil and inserted it into another brown bag that hadn't been sprayed (be sure to spray the bag BEFORE putting it inside the non-sprayed one!). This seemed to help from the bag becoming too greasy and blowing out on the bottom. Second, I found that if you pause the microwave when the bag is getting 75% full and empty the popped kernels into a bowl then putting the bag back into the microwave for the remaining time, that helps to pop almost all of the kernels. Hope this helps those out there who have had trouble with making this popcorn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
What a great idea! Turned out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Jacobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is now how I make my popcorn. I tired it with and with out the oil and didn't see much difference. Love being able to control the amount of butter and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States