Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
As I sat here reading this recipe I thought I gotta try this. I got up dug out one of the many small paper bags I keep from my purchases & proceeded to make this. I did alter the recipe somewhat. I eat popcorn for the enjoyment not the calorie factor, please note. I used popping oil about 2 TBSP i/2 c popcorn and added 1/2 tsp cayene & 1/2 tsp garlic to the oil & popcorn mixture poured it in my bag & zapped it, it took about 5 min in my microwave as it is a well loved vintage model. I shook & turned the bag about every min & poured it out in my bowl & am greatly enjoying it now as I write this review. I did sprinkle it with popcorn salt & YUM. NOTE: the earlier reviewer that mentioned popcorn salt is right it is the thing to use because it is so fine it sticks to your popcorn better & more evenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Mine Burnt in a ball at the bottom of the bag. First time i've tried it. Maybe it would work better if had a better microwave?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
MIKE FROM PA is spot on! I've also done this for some years. First learned of it from Alton Brown of "Good Eats"/ Food Network fame. My kids love it and really with a high grade ( doesn't mean expensive) EVOO, don't add butter. The EVOO is at least as good as butter and you won't miss it. Plus like MIKE says, it's good oil. I won't even buy theater popcorn anymore. Why settle for packaging materials when you can have a real treat. Yumm-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I bought a simple microwave popper bowl with a vented lid...just add corn and oil. No wasted paper products and you just have to wipe the bowl out and you're ready for the next batch. You can also sprinkle the popped corn with a bit of Stevia sweetener and apple pie spices for a great low cal sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fliptrx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I have been making popcorn this way for years. As Mike in PA suggested, I will experiment with the pepper and garlic and other additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
WOW, I'm impressed! my husband really liked it because he hates the smell of the store bought microwave popcorn! The kids and I can now make all the popcorn we want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
If you keep the popocorn in the freezer you will get better results when popping......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I cooked 1/4 cup (more did not fit in bag once popped and burned) for 2 minutes without butter or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Great idea.....it really will burn after 2 1/2 minutes....took 3 times to figure it out. Changed to 1/4 cup popcorn and didn't have the waste of all the unpopped kernals and no burning. 1/4 cup is perfect amount for one person. Used standard brown lunch bags from grocery store, olive oil, and added butter popcorn seasoning in the bag. After it was popped, sprayed with ICBINB and all 3 of my kids said it was better than regular microwave popcorn. One last tip...fold bag over twice and put a small piece of tape to hold it shut. No problems with bag coming open in the microwave and the tape does not melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It tasted like movie popcorn! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States