Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
we used 1/4 cup of popcorn, no oil and no salt, added that after popping. our microwave is 1100 watt and we popped it 1 minute 10 seconds, done to perfection, only had about 8 unpopped kernals. Added salt and butter after the fact. Dr. Oz said microwave popcorn has cancer causing chemicals in it.. no more of that for me, I will make this!! Tastes alot like air popped corn when you don't use oil in the bag.. really no need to add oil. Thank you for opening our eyes to a better, healthier and most of all cheaper way to enjoy popcorn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Yummy!!! Made as written....no issues and done in about 2min 30 sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This works great! No problems, just making a few adjustments next time. I am going to try with less oil/butter next time and 1/3 cup popcorn. I folded the top over twice and folded triangles on the corners and the bag sealed itself. 2 minutes for my microwave (around 1,000 watts). I also put the bag on its side, like MW popcorn. I had NO problems with burning or the bag opening, bottom blowing out etc, etc. I would never use staples or metal in my microwave, fear of starting a fire by arcing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
THIS RECIPE IS SOOOOO AWESOME I JUST TRIED AND MY DAUGHTER WAS WOWED!!!!! THANKS FOR SHARING ACONTORER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
The recipe worked well, I'm glad I tried it. I reduced the cooking time to just over 2 minutes. The bag was very oily aferwards. Will try without oil the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've been buying microwave popcorn for years (although I know it's got so many things that are unhealthy and that has always bothered me). My kids love popcorn but I don't like how it turns out when done in a pot because it doesn't stay dry enough. This worked great! I have a "popcorn" button on my microwave and always have to add another 30 seconds to the cook time to get all the the kernels to pop but it turns out perfect every time! Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSavaso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Be VERY CAREFUL and READ THE OWNERS MANUAL for your microwave oven before making popcorn this way. I didn't and am now shopping for a new oven, having arced my way to a fire (fortunately contained within the oven) that destroyed my microwave oven. My manual explicitly said "no brown bags" and the ones I've read for new ovens say "specialized popcorn cookers and commercially made microwave popcorn bags only." My effort to simplify storage and save money went up in smoke! FYI, the new ones don't endorse drying herbs either, which I did many times in the Litten that was 20 years old when we sold the house in 1998. Of course, it wasn't made in China...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wow is all I can say, no left over kernels either. Will def use this from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
the perfect popcorn recipe! This popcorn turned out so good! And so easy. I have tried popping corn the old fashioned way in a pot with oil and it was always chewy, and kind of stale. Wow was I impressed with how light and fluffy this microwave popcorn turned out. And to think I was afraid I was going to start a fire in my micro-wave! Too easy, too delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is great! I grew up with the pre-made bags, but I'll never buy them again! I don't coat the kernels in oil and I find that 1/4 cup fits in my paper bags just right. I'm glad I read the reviews, or else I wouldn't have known to stand the bag upright. Depending on my mood I'll top with a small amount of salted butter, or, for something sweeter, some salted butter and sugar. Parmesan cheese is delicious, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States