Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I've been making this for years now. Different microwaves have different powers (+ elevation differences) - so don't count on the microwave timer the first few times. Count it! If there is no popping for 3 seconds then it is done and you need to remove it ASAP. I don't add the salt/oil to the bag, but rather afterwards (for a cleaner microwave) and I use butter instead as well as I find the taste much better (and i also don't add salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Teskey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have been doing this for many many years, But somewhat different. Put a couple of table spoons of Unpopped corn in a paper bag and fold to close and microwave until fully popped but not burnt. Empty contents of popped corn into large bowl. Then get spray Pam or spray butter and lightly spray pop corn while lightly flipping popped corn and and lightly sprinkle pop corn salt and shake lightly flip pop corn in bowl to spread the ingredients around. Also on occasion I sprinkle Grated Cheese for a extra treat or Old Bay seasoning. Baltimore Born Retired to Florida (USA) DOUBLEROCK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Fantastic, easy and delicious recipe!! The measurements are perfect and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Thanks ACONTOROR for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This worked great. In our microwave, it took 1 minute and 45 seconds. Tried the suggestion about the tape, but it came undone and wasn't needed anyway. Used the same bag twice with good results. This makes 12 cups of popcorn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Worked perfectly - although I think I would reduce the amount of popcorn, because it seems like I had quite a few unpopped kernels. It was delish! I used EVOO instead of veggie oil also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn J Frierson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Tastes really good; easy and quick to make but wastes a ton of kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I was always too scared to try this based on the reviews from people who said that their microwaves blew up or the bags started on fire. (However, I think the reviewer who suggested that it's because of people using recycled bags has some merit.) Anyway, I finally tried this without oil -- just 1/4 C. of popcorn in the bag, folded it over, and stood it in the microwave. It took 1.5 minutes to be done before it started to burn, and there were quite a few kernels left in the bottom. However, I am so impressed at how crisp this popcorn was without oil -- it reminded me of theater popcorn! I did add some butter after it was done popping. It was great stuff. No longer am I buying any of the unhealthy prepackaged stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Made this today and LOVED it! I used hierloom red popcorn kernels which pop WHITE. They popped perfectly using this method and I hardly had any unpopped kernels. I used: 1/3 cup of the red corn kernels, 1/2 tsp of vegetable oil, put in regular brown paper lunch bag, and I popped them in an 1100 wt microwave for approximately 1 minute and 40 seconds. This was so easy, and so delicious, that I don't know if I will ever go back to brand-name pre-packaged microwave popping corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebOh68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Worked like a charm with no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States