Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I made this recipe in a Panasonic Inverter 1000 Watt microwave oven. I checked the candy at 6,9, and 11 minutes to make sure it was not burning, then cooked one minute longer, added the butter and vanilla, and cooked 2 minutes longer, added the baking soda and poured it out to cool. It turned out perfectly! What I did differently, and I learned this last year making another microwave candy recipe, is this: I use a fairly heavy, large pottery mixing bowl to make candy in. Something like Pyrex will not work as well and often causes the candy to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
YES, FOR MOST HIGH POWERED MICROWAVES THE COOKING TIMES ARE FAR TOO EXTREME WHICH RESULTS IN BURNING...THE FOLLOWING IS A MORE ACCURATE ADJUSTMENT, BUT REMEMBER, ALL MICROWAVES ARE DIFFERENT AND IF YOU CHOOSE TO MAKE A SECOND BATCH IMMEDIATELY, YOU MAY HAVE TO ADJUST THE TIME AS THE MICROWAVE HAS ALREADY BEEN 'PRIMED' Butter a cookie sheet. Combine sugar and corn syrup in a 2 quart glass bowl and microwave on high 4 minutes. Stir in peanuts and microwave on high 3 1/2 minutes more, then stir in butter and vanilla and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes. Stir in baking soda until light and foamy. Pour onto cookie sheet and spread thin. Cool completely and break into pieces and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
We had problem with burning the peanut brittle becouse our microwave was a 1000 watts. So we cut the time down to 5 minutes instead of 12 minutes and then cooked for 1 1/2 minutes instead of 4 minutes and it didn't burn the peanut brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe came in a book with my microwave in 1990 and it is a must every Christmas! So easy, inexpensive and quick! Do make sure not to use utensils that will melt! Also, heat the cookie sheet so it spreads thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This is so easy and so good! **** Note - I did reduce cooking time to 9 Min and then 3 min. I also tried it with almonds, also producing great results. This is TOO HOT for kids to be working with. Boy talk about making a gift in a hurry! Do try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This recipe is the BEST! My microwave is very old, the wattage is lower, I am sure. The time was perfect. Perhaps the burned recipes are due to the higher wattages? Don't know, but I did this and it came out perfect, every time. Made it at my sis' house, it would have burned if we hadn't been watching it. Her microwave was 1000 watts. ??????? Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
THIS IS SO SIMPLE AND MMMMM GOOD. i WOULD CHECK THE WATTS ON YOUR MICROWAVE AND ADJUST TIME FOR HIGHER WATTS. TRY IT WITH PECANS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This was my first time ever making peanut brittle. OMG! It was so simple and it tastes fabulous. I highly recommend this recipe for the first time candy makers. You will be so impressed with yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was very easy to make. A little messy for a first timer but turned out great. Used mixed nut instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
simple and the taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States