Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I tried the recipe 3 times and each time I came out with a soft sticky substance instead of brittle, but it tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was good in flavor, but as it turned out, mine didn't get cooked enough! We have a 1250 watt microwave, so I decided to reduce the cooking time to 8 and 2 1\2 minutes. Well, I was wrong, it seemed cooked, but never hardened up. I gave it to my Grandmother anyway, and she said it was good, if you eat it in small pieces. I put what I had in the oven (350 degrees) to cook it a little more, and that worked fine. I may try this out again, except cook it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Good recipe BUT....Nothing on this recipe indicated the wattage of the microwave. This recipe cannot be cooked for 12 minutes on a newer high watt microwave after the total 16 minutes the mixture exploded out the bowl with the addition of the baking soda. The peanuts were already 'burnt smelling' when it came to 6 minutes on the timer. It tasted like marshmallows blackened over a campfire. I threw it all in the trash, and started over. I cooked it for only 6 min, THEN added the peanuts with the butter and vanilla. Cooked it for another 4 minutes....tested it with the old water trick then added the baking soda...Much Better....BUT....not nearly enough peanuts. I would put in like 2 cups for the amount of the candy mixture it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I love this recipe!! Each recipe is perfect for two 1/2 lbs in holiday foil trays! I give them as gifts every Christmas and everyone loves it! Great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe came in a book with my microwave in 1990 and it is a must every Christmas! So easy, inexpensive and quick! Do make sure not to use utensils that will melt! Also, heat the cookie sheet so it spreads thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
We had problem with burning the peanut brittle becouse our microwave was a 1000 watts. So we cut the time down to 5 minutes instead of 12 minutes and then cooked for 1 1/2 minutes instead of 4 minutes and it didn't burn the peanut brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe is faulty. It microwaves for twelve minutes and that is too long for my microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made this over the weekend. I was going to use it in gift baskets I'm making. I took the advice of other reviewers and broke up the cooking time to 4 minute intervals. Mine turned out really gooey. I even put it in the freezer! I never set up and got hard like a brittle should be. I had to call someone and get another recipe. Sorry. The taste was fine, but I won't be using this one again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was very easy to make. A little messy for a first timer but turned out great. Used mixed nut instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I tried this without reading reviews first and it burnt so bad. My husband and I was having a peanut brittle cook off and needless to say I lost big time. The time is way to long for my microwave. There is not enough peanuts in the recipe, you should add more. I will try it again and see about using as some have suggested 9 min then 3 min. I would check it often and see what your microwave is doing and adjust the time of cooking accordingly. Sounds like a real good recipe if done right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States