Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
People rave about this, and it is so simple. To help with cleanup, soak the measuring cup or bowl in very hot soapy water. Easy! DO NOT spread the peanut brittle--just tip the cookie sheet back and forth. You do not want to break the "bubbles" made by the baking soda. That is what makes it "tender." The thinner the better, so I heat my cookie sheet in a warm oven so the candy spreads more quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
744 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
This is a great recipe, fast, fun, easy and delicious. The first time I made it I followed the cooking time exactly and it burned. Next time I cut the first cooking time to 3.5 minutes the second to 3 minutes and the last cooking time to 1 minute, and it turned out perfect. My microwave is 1000 watts. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
534 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This really was delicious. The only thing is that the baking soda needs to be stirred in very quickly. Then the mixture needs to be poured out AS SOON AS the baking soda is stirred in. The directions "stir until light and foamy" are a little misleading. It doesn't become light and foamy as you stir. . . it becomes less light and foamy. It was hard to pour out, but ended tasting very good. *update: I have now made this recipe numerous times. At first I gave it 4 stars; however, if you follow the hint I gave above, the recipe is 5 stars. The Peanut Brittle is fantastic. My grandmother is THE candy-maker, and my mom says that she cannot tell the difference between mine and my grandmother's (she slaves away all day on her's). Also, this recipe is delicious topped with chocolate. All you have to do is put a layer of semi-sweet chocolate chips (or whatever kind of chocolate you prefer) on top of the brittle as soon as you pour the mixture out onto the cookie sheet. The chocolate will start to melt; simply spread the chocolate over the peanut brittle with a spatula. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Definitely be careful with this recipe! It did NOT work in my too-powerful-for-this-recipe microwave. After the first four minutes, the whole concotion was a burnt mess and was difficult to clean up. My microwave is a Kenmore and it says 1000 watts on the label. Since we don't know what wattage the submitter used, I'd say keep a close eye on this. I ended up making traditional stove-top brittle once I ruined all my cashews in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This recipe is awesome. I have been reading all the reviews on microwave peanut brittle, and I took the best ideas from all of them and tried it out. My brittle came out perfect. I used the exacts ingredients of this recipe and then this is what I did. I put parchment paper on my cookie sheet. Then I microwaved (800watts) the sugar, corn syrup and salt for 4 minutes in a 4 cup glass measure. I added the peanuts and microwaved for 3 1/2 minutes. Then added the butter and vanilla and microwaved for 1 1/2 minutes. I stirred in the baking soda real quick and and spread it out on the parchment paper with a spatula sprayed with Pam. It was a perfect outcome first try! Going to go make some with cashews now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
At work they call this "Crack Candy" - it's addictive, insanely good, and takes maybe 15 minutes total to do. Tricks: Don't add nuts until after about 3.5 minutes. Don't need to add salt if your nuts are salted already. Use 2 TEASPOONS of Baking Soda- makes it so perfect, easy to chew & it won't stick in your teeth at all. I make this with cashews, a mix of cashews and peanuts- follow the directions and it is perfect every time. I put all my ingredients out to have ready- the candy is like LAVA and you gotta work fast or get pulled under... Oh- spray foil with PAM and spread the candy down to cool, then it lifts right off after about 15-20 minutes resting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
A++++. This recipe is wonderful. Although I did make a few changes. I used raw spanish peanuts which are commenly called for in peanut brittle, used a glass 2qt casserole dish (no breakedge), and I used parchment paper on top of the cookie sheet (no mess). Microwave times were dead on. I made 3 batches. The key was to let the microwave set for a bit to cool down between batches. Thank you for a fun, easy, and tasty recipe. Will make this one every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I've tried this recipe twice and it burnt both times before I even added the butter & vanilla. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
WOW! This is super easy!! The first batch I made did not turn out because I didn't cook it long enough. My 1000 watt microwave required 6 minutes, add butter and then cook an additional 1 minute 45 seconds. It was PERFECT! If you are messing this up you are not playing with it long enough. I would rather burn a batch than undercook a batch. I made 20 pounds of this microwave peanut brittle this Christmas and no one could believe this was made in the microwave! It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. My only tip is DO NOT USE A PLASTIC BOWEL to make it with in hte micorwave, not even a micorwave safe bowel. USE A GLASS micorwave safe bowel. I made that mistake and it got so hot it melted a hole in the bottom of the bowel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States