Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Have made this recipe several times. Just a couple things: Use a Microwave safe bowl (preferably with a handle, as it will get HOT); the cooking times stated for this recipe seems to be for a low-wattage oven (as I have burnt a couple batches because my new microwave seems to be higher and I didn't know what to do). SO reduce the (1st) 4 minutes to 3; the (2nd) 3-1/2 to 3; and leave the final amount of time alone. These are just suggestions but I tried it and managed not to burn my next couple of batches. I think this Peanut Brittle is better than See's (don't let any See's executive see this review)...tee hee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
A wonderful recipe. I've never made peanut brittle before; this was my first try. A couple of notes from my "beginner" attempt. I should have realized the mixture would cook up better if I had first stirred the sugar and corn syrup together before cooking. When I went to add in the peanuts, only part of the mixture was cooked, so I stirred it then and kept going, adding the peanuts to cook for the second part. When I got the bowl out, I tried stirring it again - and a moment of inattention cost me dearly! I looked away at my dog while I was stirring and the spoon slipped up and out; depositing hot syrup on my hand. Of course, I jumped (it freakin' hurt!), and didn't realize more flew off the spoon onto the floor. As I was rushing to the sink to put my hand under cold water, I stepped right into the candy on the floor. Has anyone else ever cooked peanut brittle and wound up with blisters on both your hand and the bottom of your foot? LOL I'm so annoyed with myself. I know better! After all that excitement, I added the butter and vanilla, cooked for the last minute and a half, added the baking soda, stirred (carefully), and poured it onto my Silpat Mat. Beautiful! I did add more peanuts (personal preference), and the recipe should read 1 TBSP butter, I'm sure. If a first timer can cook it to completion with all those stumbling blocks, anyone should be able to. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judymom5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Love how easy it is and it taste great. The only down fall is trying to spread thin but not that big of a deal, and I always put just a little extra peanuts in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Burnt the nuts---will try again and use less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharin
Living In: Prairieton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe! After reading reviews, I made the recipe with the following modifications: (1) Use 1 tablespoon of butter instead of a teaspoon; (2) 2 teaspoons of baking soda, because I wanted it really light and crunchy; (3) I have a 900W microwave, so I adjusted to to 80% power while cooking to more closely match the 700W that another reviewer said this recipe used. I suspect that people getting burned brittle need to adjust their power down and that should help, instead of just adjusting the time down. Also, to finish off the recipe, I used the "pulling" method where I pull the brittle while it is cooling to make very thin brittle. It was amazing, best brittle I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Burnt the first batch. Reduced the cook times to 3 mins, then 3 1/2 mins then 1 min 15 sec. Second batch was great. This is high altitude (Denver) with a 1000 watt microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is an easy recipe that tastes great!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Forget the stove top method. This is SO EASY and it tastes exactly the same. No constant stirring or having to measure the temp with a candy thermometer. If you have a decent microwave oven with at least 900 watts, this recipe may burn the brittle. To avoid this, make a double recipe. Works like a charm. Also, when you add the baking soda, be prepared to pour it out onto the pan within seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I took all the hints and used them. I used 2 teaspoons of baking soda, a tad more butter, during the last cook time, I checked it by smell of the peanuts--burnt or just right. If you smell them during the first cooking of the peanuts they smell raw, then it is easy to compare. I also used a glass 2 quart meauring ppitcher, sprayed it and the spatula and the parchment paper a bit so I oould tip the pan and get it to spread. Let utensils and microwave cool between batches. Thanks everyone for all hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Curington Ballard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The best peanut brittle EVER! I got it right on my first try and it was perfect! You do have to be quick when you are ready to pour! I took some other reviewers advice and did it in a 4 cup glass measuring cup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States