Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was AWESOME! I have to say I did burn my first batch but then went back and read the reviews and my second batch was PERFECT! The following is a synopsis of the tricks I learned from the other reviews: Get everything measured and ready before you get started as the candy sets up quickly in between steps and when done. I did alter the recipe using 1 tablespoon and not one teaspoon butter and some extra peanuts as well. Use cooking spray or butter on the lip of your glass bowl and spatula to help with clean up. Use the times posted in this recipe for a 700 watt microwave. For my microwave which is 1100 watts, I used 3 min, then 2 1/2 min then 1 min. You still may need to adjust according to how your microwave cooks. The candy should start browning at the end of the second bout in the microwave. Heating the pan you intend to spread the brittle in beforehand is helpful so it doesn't solidify too quickly (and this recipe does ONLY make about 1/2 a cookie sheet full). If you need to spread it a little, just tilt the pan from side to side. If it still isn't thin enough, after the edges cool just a little bit, lift edges with your fingers and gently pull it outward. Be careful with the glass bowl you cooked in - wait til it cools some before you put it in the sink or it will shatter. Just soak in really warm soapy water for about 5 minutes and it will clean right up. I LOVE this recipe and plan to use it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
1 A mention of how strong her microwave is would help people from wasting ingredients by burning them (or having them stuck in your pan like concrete). 2 Maybe it is just a 'South' thing, but peanut brittle here has a buttery, rich flavor. The vanilla ruined the entire batch: way too sweet taste and overwhelmed the flavor of the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA  IN E TN
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
i loved this recipe because i put off making my grandpas peanut brittle for christmas and it is christmas eve and now it is all done thanks i did have a hard time putting it in the pan but then again i am just learning how to cook.:0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Seems like this is missing the full peanut flavor throughout the candy base. Could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have used this recipe and instructions before in a less powerful microwave, but today in my newer microwave it got WAY TOO DONE! I know it's a great recipe, but beware the cooking length based on how powerful your machine is. You might try about 3 minutes, then 2 1/2, then 1 and see as you go along if it's melting, boiling, and getting hot enough. If the brittle is gettin dark, then you let it get too hot. Too much heat will change the taste and consistency, and it's not as good. Darn, I will just have to make it again tomorrow! I love using the microwave instead of the stove for this, it's so much easier. Thanks! ~ Tanya in Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I burned it in my microwave. It is 1100 watts. The recipe dosn't say what watage it was done with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent! Easy, peasy, microwave easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Glascock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
First successful batch....everyone seems to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Pretty good recipe. My peanuts were burnt. I would change microwaving for 5 minutes until you see that your mixture starts to brown. Add peanuts and microwave for 1 minute. You definitely need to watch the microwave and do in it in small 15 -20 seconds, or microwave on 50% power and mix in between after the peanuts have been added. The recipe definitely needs a disclaimer of varying power and times. I've made it twice and ruined the first batch. The second came out a little burnt even though I was more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I come back to this recipe and come back to it every Christmas! I make at least 5 batches every year. I always double the recipe and use my Pampered Chef large batter bowl. I have a powerful microwave so I use the cook times as written in the recipe. I pour the brittle onto a 1/2 size sheet pan and use an offset spatula to spread it. This mixture gets VERY hot so be sure to have your oven mitts ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States