Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Forget the stove top method. This is SO EASY and it tastes exactly the same. No constant stirring or having to measure the temp with a candy thermometer. If you have a decent microwave oven with at least 900 watts, this recipe may burn the brittle. To avoid this, make a double recipe. Works like a charm. Also, when you add the baking soda, be prepared to pour it out onto the pan within seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I took all the hints and used them. I used 2 teaspoons of baking soda, a tad more butter, during the last cook time, I checked it by smell of the peanuts--burnt or just right. If you smell them during the first cooking of the peanuts they smell raw, then it is easy to compare. I also used a glass 2 quart meauring ppitcher, sprayed it and the spatula and the parchment paper a bit so I oould tip the pan and get it to spread. Let utensils and microwave cool between batches. Thanks everyone for all hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Curington Ballard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The best peanut brittle EVER! I got it right on my first try and it was perfect! You do have to be quick when you are ready to pour! I took some other reviewers advice and did it in a 4 cup glass measuring cup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
CHANGE YOUR NUKE TIME. I love the taste and ease of this recipe but be careful. My microwave is 1100 watts. I only did the sugar/syrup for about 2 1/2 minutes. (The ingredients were still white turning just a little yellow and all bubbly) Then I added the nuts, this was on for about 1 1/2 minutes. It was bubbly and turning yellow. GOOD! The last part I did keep it in for about 1 - 2 minutes, basing it on color, which was slightly beige, and my nuts were smelling roasty and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a great no fail recipe. I make it every year for Christmas gifts. I have to get it out of the house or I would make myself sick eating it. I treat myself to the small bits left when I break it into pieces. It is so much easier to make than a cooked version with raw peanuts and tastes great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I followed directions just as listed. My peanuts burned, the sugar also burned. The liquid was brown.... and everything stuck so quickly to my glass dish I couldn't even get it out of the dish to pour it in the buttered pan. Then, all I could taste was baking soda when I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.GAPeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Wow I just found out something. At what voltage microwave was this recipe concieved? I just tried this year with my New Samsung above the over Microwave and I ended up with burnt brittle. I followed the times to a tee...It is such an easy and fun recipe. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe! very easy- much easier than stove method, which i ended up ruining my glass top stove a couple yrs back and have not made brittle since finding this recipe. has good taste, very easy- just be sure to use a dish big enough and suggest keeping the recipe serving as original and just make more batches. Also- check your microwave wattage- I reduced the cook time by 1/3 since i have a high watt wave- Suggest also using non stick reynolds wrap to line your pan as well as spray My tweak to recipe was using brown sugar vs white, i use same amount as original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is the easiest recipe that I have made. My microwave agrees with the recipe as far as minutes. It was delicious too! I have already gave this recipe to several friends! I'm taking this to Kansas City with me tomorrow to a Christmas party!! My bowl cleaned up great, just hot sudsy water.. Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was easy and fun! I added more butter, say 2 teas. I will try to tip to spread it. I found it impossible to spread as instructedpd, but with these ingredients,I knew it would taste good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States