Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Burnt the nuts---will try again and use less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharin
Living In: Prairieton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe! After reading reviews, I made the recipe with the following modifications: (1) Use 1 tablespoon of butter instead of a teaspoon; (2) 2 teaspoons of baking soda, because I wanted it really light and crunchy; (3) I have a 900W microwave, so I adjusted to to 80% power while cooking to more closely match the 700W that another reviewer said this recipe used. I suspect that people getting burned brittle need to adjust their power down and that should help, instead of just adjusting the time down. Also, to finish off the recipe, I used the "pulling" method where I pull the brittle while it is cooling to make very thin brittle. It was amazing, best brittle I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Burnt the first batch. Reduced the cook times to 3 mins, then 3 1/2 mins then 1 min 15 sec. Second batch was great. This is high altitude (Denver) with a 1000 watt microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is an easy recipe that tastes great!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Forget the stove top method. This is SO EASY and it tastes exactly the same. No constant stirring or having to measure the temp with a candy thermometer. If you have a decent microwave oven with at least 900 watts, this recipe may burn the brittle. To avoid this, make a double recipe. Works like a charm. Also, when you add the baking soda, be prepared to pour it out onto the pan within seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I took all the hints and used them. I used 2 teaspoons of baking soda, a tad more butter, during the last cook time, I checked it by smell of the peanuts--burnt or just right. If you smell them during the first cooking of the peanuts they smell raw, then it is easy to compare. I also used a glass 2 quart meauring ppitcher, sprayed it and the spatula and the parchment paper a bit so I oould tip the pan and get it to spread. Let utensils and microwave cool between batches. Thanks everyone for all hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Curington Ballard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The best peanut brittle EVER! I got it right on my first try and it was perfect! You do have to be quick when you are ready to pour! I took some other reviewers advice and did it in a 4 cup glass measuring cup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
CHANGE YOUR NUKE TIME. I love the taste and ease of this recipe but be careful. My microwave is 1100 watts. I only did the sugar/syrup for about 2 1/2 minutes. (The ingredients were still white turning just a little yellow and all bubbly) Then I added the nuts, this was on for about 1 1/2 minutes. It was bubbly and turning yellow. GOOD! The last part I did keep it in for about 1 - 2 minutes, basing it on color, which was slightly beige, and my nuts were smelling roasty and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a great no fail recipe. I make it every year for Christmas gifts. I have to get it out of the house or I would make myself sick eating it. I treat myself to the small bits left when I break it into pieces. It is so much easier to make than a cooked version with raw peanuts and tastes great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I followed directions just as listed. My peanuts burned, the sugar also burned. The liquid was brown.... and everything stuck so quickly to my glass dish I couldn't even get it out of the dish to pour it in the buttered pan. Then, all I could taste was baking soda when I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.GAPeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States