Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Easy, simple and fast. Tastes just as good as any commercial Brittle that I have bought. Going to try making Cashew Brittle next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kewissman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Probably one of the best microwave versions of the recipe I have found. Don't be afraid to substitute honey for corn syrup, if you feel so bold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: New Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
As is, the time was way off. This burned very badly and I'm just glad that I was by the sink when I put the baking soda in because it instantly expanded a LOT and overflowed-- thankfully not onto my hands. Be very careful! I haven't tried again with adjusted cooking time, but I think I'll be using a thermometer and stovetop from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lurel White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Great recipe! Followed the suggestion by another reviewer not to spread the brittle with a utensil, but to tilt the pan gently instead to spread the brittle. Definite difference in consistency if you spread with a utensil. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Ok what you need to do on this recipe is to mix the butter,vanilla and baking soda together in a small bowl ahead of time and then add to the mixture after the fiest micowave period. makes things alot easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Soo easy to make. Very impressed with how it turned out. Followed the directions exactly as it was. And yes, do not use a plastic container. The brittle can be over 300 degrees. You'll never want store bought ever again. The second batch I made, I added a pinch of salt along with the butter and vanilla to give it a little bit of balance. And because I like it a sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Delicious peanut brittle. Make sure you adjust your time with a more powerful microwave or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I added a few more peanuts than the recipe calls for, but otherwise I followed it precisely. I ended up making three batches of peanut brittle. I had no problem with scorching. Thanks for the recipe, Joyce!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was AWESOME! I have to say I did burn my first batch but then went back and read the reviews and my second batch was PERFECT! The following is a synopsis of the tricks I learned from the other reviews: Get everything measured and ready before you get started as the candy sets up quickly in between steps and when done. I did alter the recipe using 1 tablespoon and not one teaspoon butter and some extra peanuts as well. Use cooking spray or butter on the lip of your glass bowl and spatula to help with clean up. Use the times posted in this recipe for a 700 watt microwave. For my microwave which is 1100 watts, I used 3 min, then 2 1/2 min then 1 min. You still may need to adjust according to how your microwave cooks. The candy should start browning at the end of the second bout in the microwave. Heating the pan you intend to spread the brittle in beforehand is helpful so it doesn't solidify too quickly (and this recipe does ONLY make about 1/2 a cookie sheet full). If you need to spread it a little, just tilt the pan from side to side. If it still isn't thin enough, after the edges cool just a little bit, lift edges with your fingers and gently pull it outward. Be careful with the glass bowl you cooked in - wait til it cools some before you put it in the sink or it will shatter. Just soak in really warm soapy water for about 5 minutes and it will clean right up. I LOVE this recipe and plan to use it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States