Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I have an 1100 watt microwave and following Linda's recipe my brittle burned after adding the nuts. I tried it again lowering the time and this is what worked for me. 2 1/2 minutes for the sugar and corn syrup, add the nuts and cook for 2 more minutes, add the vanilla and butter and 1 1/2 minutes more. I only did the 1 1/2 at the end for my husband because he likes it almost brown. I prefer it at 1 minute instead and it is gold like the photo on the original. I liked the hint posted about spraying the pouring edge of the pyrex bowl and also the wooden spoon with Pam and I used parchment paper to line the cookie sheet. You can re-use that several times and the brittle is not greasy. I also only put in 1 cup of nuts instead of 1 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
My wife and I have made two batches of this, and they both came out perfect! Guess what everyone's getting a tin of this Christmas? : ) Oh, one more thing. We've been making it in one of those glass 4-cup measuring cups. You know, the clear ones with a handle. They work great for handling it and pouring the mixture on the cookie sheet. You can get them at Wal-Mart for about 4 bucks. Oh well, that's all for now. Thanks a bunch for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
600 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe was great. Like others, I was grateful not to have to be stirring and stirring this on the stove!!! I had to try this a few times before it turned out. The first time it burned a little. Wanted to pass along what I did just in case it helps others. I live in Colorado - so high altitude might have affected this a little. I also have a 900 watt microwave. I cooked the sugar and syrup for 6 minutes. Then added the peanuts, salt, butter and vanilla. Cooked for 2 1/2 more minutes. Then added the soda. For those of you who like thinner brittle, here is a tip. Put your cookie sheet (sprayed with Pam) in the oven at 200 degrees for a few minutes while the brittle is cooking. Then remove the cookie sheet when the brittle is done. With the warm pan, it allows you more time to spread it out - as thick or thin as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I have made (no exaggerating) dozens of batches-it makes a great gift! I use a 9.5 oz can of Planters lightly salted cashews. Here's what I have found to be helpful: I reduced the baking soda to 1/2-3/4t. baking soda (I could taste the soda-yuck), and I add the nuts after the mixture starts to turn slightly brown (about 4 min. in my microwave). The mixture stiffens up some, but will then soften when you cook it again-that way, the nuts don't burn at all. Keep adjusting the times for your microwave-it's worth it! Add Tip: to thin/spread out the brittle, try using forks to "pull out" the candy along w/ heating your cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This was GREAT! Tips: For some reason, the batch always turned out better when I lined the cookie sheet with aluminum foil - chemical reaction w/the baking soda maybe? Also, plan to waste at least one batch, because there is one unknown in this recipe: your microwave. I had to tinker until I got the timing of everything right. Once I did it was like clockwork! I made 6 batches of this in 2 and a half hours! Not bad, considering I didn't have to break an arm stirring the whole time! And it really does taste *exactly* the same as the stuff done the hard way! After the first 2 batches, I just started leaving out the vanilla. You can't really taste it and it's not worth the extra cost IMO. Overall an incredibly easy, fast, fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This recipe is good! It's way better than average, but in nmy opinion, needs more salt. Here are some tips for the people who keep burning the recipe, who can't get their mixture to firm up, or for those who, for the life of them, can't find corn syrup. A) If you are having trouble with BURNING or you keep getting a BURNT taste, make sure that you're using RAW nuts, and not roasted ones. Mix everything together before putting it into the microwave. Also, keep a close eye on the mixture. Don't go away from your microwave. a) If you have ROASTED NUTS, try putting them in when add the butter instead of putting them in at first. This will reduce flavor transfer, but at least you won't have "burnt nut" aftertaste as your flavor! B) If you HAVE NO CORN SYRUP, use .75 honey and .25 water. This gives a different flavor, too, some might say it tastes a bit more "old-fashioned". (? You decide!) C) Finally, if you are having trouble getting your recipe to harden: 1) Make sure you microwave the mixture on HIGH with a MICROWAVE. When you add the butter and vanilla, check for soft-ball stage...after waving your "spatula" in the air for 2 secs, you should have a firm "glob" that kind-of holds it shape sitting on your utensil. 2) Use the right amount of butter 3) Don't keep taking the mixture of the microwave to "check it." It has to stay hot to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I have been using this recipe for many years and it always comes out perfectly. The glass 4 cup measuring cup is a real key for ease in making this recipe. The original recipe I use calls for a can of cashew pieces and this makes a fantastic brittle! Everyone I give it to wants the recipe. I also experimented this year with topping the brittle with a thin layer of chocolate. Yum! Let the brittle firm up a bit, but while it is still very warm sprinkle some semi-sweet or milk chocolate morsels on top and the chocolate will start melting almost immediately. Just spread with a knife or utility spatula and let cool. I usually do half of my batch with chocolate and half without. This recipe is a winner for gifts for friends and neighbors, and it is extremely quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I used a microwave peanut brittle recipe for years, then lost it. This seemed like the closest to my old recipe and luckily it turned out just as good. I've made numerous batches this last week. I find it works fine using salted nuts. In fact, I buy the large container of fancy nuts from Costco and it makes wonderful brittle. My absolutely favorite thing to add is the shaved coconut strips which you can find at places like Trader Joe's, and some of the catalog companies. (Regular flake coconut will burn too easily.) Last night I made a coconut and almond combination which was out of this world. My microwave oven is 1000 watts, instead of the 700 watts this recipe is written for. So I use 5 min. for the first cooking, and 1 min 45 sec for the second cooking. For those who complain that it comes out chewey rather than brittle, it's because it hasn't been cooked enough. This recipe is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This is the only Peanut Brittle recipe I'll use. =) Always turns out good - to avoid the chewies, just keep a glass of cold water on hand - don't add the baking soda untill a little bit of the brittle-part makes a hard ball and cracks in the water. Then you won't be foiled by different microwave powers, and'll have a better idea of how long to zap it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
The perfect brittle recipe. I made 10 batches last night to give as gifts. Try with cashews, very delicious, but the cashews brown faster. Helpful hint: boil water while cooking the brittle. Pour the boiling water into the empty bowl as soon as you are done with it and cleanup is easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States