Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Help! I have been making this for years but this year mine keeps turning out crunchy but slightly chewy - and sticks to the teeth!! Yikes! I've had to trash some batches, such a waste but can't risk my friend's fillings! Thanks for any help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Taste great, and the hardest part about making it is the cleanup. 1. Cut the peanuts back to 1 cup or there is too much nut and not enough brittle. 2. I usually taste soda in recipes if too much is used, and I used 1 tspn as the recipe says and could not taste it in the finished product. 3. There are a lot of comments about this receipe getting "burnt", so I reduced the cooking time on the first batch and ended up with some delicious peanut chew. Maybe using roasted peanuts those need to be added lated, but the sugar mixture still needed to cook at least 8 minutes. For a light brown but not chewy candy, my cooking times were: - Sugar, Syrup and salt for 4 minutes - Add 1 cup peanuts and cook 2 more minutes - Add butter and vanilla and cook 2 more minutes I poured it onto parchment paper and stacked in layers in the fridge to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
It's still warm but I just had to try it. All I can say is that it is AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe! I made it for my second grade class' Chrsitmas party. I got lots of requests for the recipe from the moms. I doubled the baking soda so that it wouldn't stick to the kids' teeth. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
yummmmmm turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyschmid3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I make more than a dozen batches of this every year during the holidays. We've moved and have a different microwave this time, but one batch was all it took to tweak the times so it turned out right. This is a fast, easy recipe and a HUGE hit a cookie exchange parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
1st try - 6 min then 2 1/2 minutes - dries hard but is chewy when you eat it 2nd try - 8 min then 3 min - PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wicked easy . . . I don’t think I’d ever bother making peanut brittle on the stovetop again. To make this recipe even easier, I used parchment paper. My microwave oven is 1000 watts, instead of the 700 watts as indicated in this recipe. I chose 6 minutes for the first cooking, and 2 minutes for the second cooking which turned out perfect. I used unsalted nuts so I wish I had added a little extra salt to the recipe but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
LOVE THIS! I have followed it exactly to the directions and had good luck with it. However, I decided to decrease the amount of baking soda to a half teaspoon and I like the results better. The best time for me has been 6 minutes and then 2 minutes on high. If you decide to cut back on the amount of nuts to save money, know that you'll need to decrease your cooking time. I scorched a batch that I only used a 3/4 cup of macadamias in it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
GREAT recipe, I burned the fist batch so lowered the cooking time for the second batch, reduced the amount of baking soda and put the peanuts in with the vanilla and butter. Also added another TBSP of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States