Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good and easy.....dont hesitate to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigmommahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was great! Made and cooked EXACTLY as stated. What a relief from the "old fashioned" way - tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe & super easy. I did use Mariezee's suggestions since I also have a stronger microwave. I tried one batch on waxed paper, and the paper stuck to the candy. It probably needed to be sprayed. A sprayed cookie sheet worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I don't like peanut brittle but this was actually pretty good. I made it for my parents because they do like it and besides being really easy they said it was delicious and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This has got to be one of the BEST recipes out there considering the time & effort it takes & it tastes just like the stovetop version! I followed MARIEZEE's times & it worked on the first try! Here's what I did- First I put a (non sprayed) parchment lined cookie sheet in a 170 degree oven. I used an 8c Pyrex measuring bowl (with handle) & sprayed it with Pam. I put the corn syrup FIRST, then the sugar on top & micro 2 1/2 min., stirred, then added the nuts stirred & micro 2 min., added vanilla & butter, stirred & micro 1 min., added the soda, stirred & spread on warm sheet. I used Planter's Mixed Nuts (salted) so left out the pinch of salt. Excellent & so easy. Do not double & make sure & cool @room temp (NOT in fridge) -for some reason it changes the texture from brittle to chewy. So glad I discovered this before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe twice this week for cookie platter gifts. The recipe is very easy to make and tastes great. I spray the microwave bowl & spatula with PAM and it doesn't stick at all. Otherwise you will have a sticky mess to clean up. I will definately make this recipe again. *NOTE: I tried to double this recipe and it didn't turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
everyone loves it.....had to vary the cook time due to my microwave....but it is so yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Tastes as good or better than "traditional"! I also tweaked things a bit based on other's reviews, and mine turned out perfect the very first time. I have an 1100W microwave and cooked as follows: Sugar + Corn Syrup nuke 2.5 mins; then add nute and nuke another 2 mins; then add butter + vanilla and nuke another 1.5 mins. Total cook time = 6 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made this into cashew brittle. EXCELLENT! Perfect flavor and "brittleness." Now for the big substitution I made - I was all ready to make this today and found, much to my annoyance, I had no corn syrup in the pantry. Fortunately, it was just a tiny bump in the candy-making road. In a small saucepan, I combined 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water. Brought it to a boil (without stirring) and boiled it 3 minutes. This is a good trick to remember anytime you need corn syrup - this is way cheaper and works identically in any recipe. Also good for when someone in the family has a corn allergy. I did cut back the soda to 1/2 tsp and I could still just barely taste it - certainly not enough to ruin it. My palate works on overdrive. I nuked the syrup/sugar mixture 5-1/2 minutes, added the butter, vanilla and cashews for another 2 minutes (since cashews are more delicate than peanuts and therefore burn far more easily) and presto! It could not have possibly turned out better had I toiled over a hot stove for a half hour. I would have never believed you could make such great brittle in a microwave. (Don't you wonder how anyone figured that fact out?! I mean, really. Did she/he just wake up one morning and say, "I'm going to try to make brittle in the microwave instead of on the stove"??) As a professional chef, I tend to be a purist about cooking methods, and even so, this made a believer out of even skeptical me! Phenomenal recipe - thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 141-150 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States