Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
excellent. Cooking times are dependent upon your microwave oven wattage. Peruse other peoples' reviews for ideas on cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Fabulous peanut brittle - the best ever! (though this is the first time I've ever made any myself). Since our microwave has 1200 watts, I cooked it first at 70% for 6 minutes (adding the peanuts after 2 minutes), then added the butter and vanilla and cooked another 2 1/2 minutes before taking it out and adding the baking soda. Turned out just perfect and delectible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stvnflt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I have been making this for years and years...you do have to watch it to prevent burning because all microwaves are different. I have used many different types of nuts in this recipe; mixed, macadamias, cashews, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have been making a similar recipe for years. I make a ten minute (or so) brittle putting the nuts in at the five minute point, then add the butter, vanilla, and soda at the end. I followed this recipe putting the butter and vanilla in at the earlier interval and was not so happy with the results. I think I will stick with my recipe. I also put in more baking soda which all of my elderly relatives prefer as they say it makes the candy easier on their teeth! I out in 1 1/2 t of baking soda and it makes the candy really airy...also I live at 5500 feet which may also have something to do with it... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Just made it, thinking I followed recipe to the tee but I added the soda along with the butter and vanilla, and it came out FAB! Husband loved it as it wasn't tooth-breakingly hard! No hard clean-up! It's only sugar, so hot water makes for easy clean-up! Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I buy either the 4 pound can of peanuts or the 2 pound can of cashews over at Menards (yes, they sell more then hardware and lumber) mainly for this recipe. Either of them work well and as a bonus, they are inexpensive. This is truly a very good recipe that I have used for at least a couple of years. I'm going right out to buy a clear glass 4-cup measuring cup with a handle especially for making this brittle as some others have suggested. I believe that it will make an easy recipe even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Would give it 10 stars if I could. The only recipe I make! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
set microwave at 70% power if your mircowave is above 700 watts.i have made this recipe since 1978.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Neill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the same recipe that my Grandfather found in our local newspaper many years ago. It is so special to our family becuase each year at Christmas we knew he would make a special batch for each of his grandkids. After his passing, my grandmother gave the recipe to each of us. Each microwave varies on cook times, so it's always the second and sometimes third batch that comes out perfect. According my my microwave; the first cooking time is 7 minutes and 40 seconds and the second cooking time is 2 minutes. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I have a 1000 W microwave and found that 6 1/2 minutes on the first cycle and 2 1/2 minutes on the second is perfect. I add the nuts at the beginning like the recipe says and have had perfect results....no burning. I use a Silpat mat and put my pan in a warm oven while cooking. I also use a silicone hot dish pad so that I can use the force of my hand to flatten out the brittle even more after spreading it out initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States