Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I buy either the 4 pound can of peanuts or the 2 pound can of cashews over at Menards (yes, they sell more then hardware and lumber) mainly for this recipe. Either of them work well and as a bonus, they are inexpensive. This is truly a very good recipe that I have used for at least a couple of years. I'm going right out to buy a clear glass 4-cup measuring cup with a handle especially for making this brittle as some others have suggested. I believe that it will make an easy recipe even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Would give it 10 stars if I could. The only recipe I make! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
set microwave at 70% power if your mircowave is above 700 watts.i have made this recipe since 1978.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Neill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the same recipe that my Grandfather found in our local newspaper many years ago. It is so special to our family becuase each year at Christmas we knew he would make a special batch for each of his grandkids. After his passing, my grandmother gave the recipe to each of us. Each microwave varies on cook times, so it's always the second and sometimes third batch that comes out perfect. According my my microwave; the first cooking time is 7 minutes and 40 seconds and the second cooking time is 2 minutes. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I have a 1000 W microwave and found that 6 1/2 minutes on the first cycle and 2 1/2 minutes on the second is perfect. I add the nuts at the beginning like the recipe says and have had perfect results....no burning. I use a Silpat mat and put my pan in a warm oven while cooking. I also use a silicone hot dish pad so that I can use the force of my hand to flatten out the brittle even more after spreading it out initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My grandmother made microwave peanut brittle for years. This was my first time making it and it turned out great. I watched each batch carefully to make sure it didn't burn. Like other reviewers, I added the peanuts (I also made cashew brittle!) after about 4 minutes. Then added the butter and vanilla. Since microwaves do vary so much, my suggestion is to watch it carefully. Once it starts to get golden, then add the nuts, etc. My husband liked it so much that I ended up having to give smaller portions out to my neighbors. Next time I'll make more or hide it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This reminds me of the Mr. Peanut candy bars I ate when I was a kid. Very light and crunchy - Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry72367

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
SO GOOD!!! For some reason though I can't make it like I made it the first time. I will however though continue to make this, it is so easy to put together and make. Thank you for such an easy TASTY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I have to say I didn't think these were going to turn out, but it's the best peanut brittle I've ever had! It has a sort of sponge toffee texture to it, but it just makes it better for me!! Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this for the first time and used the suggestions from the 2nd reviewer and it came out perfect. This is a GREAT TASTING recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States