Microwave Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was pretty good, even though I used chicken broth instead of water (I had no boulion) and forgot the soy sauce (duh). The main thing is: use white long grain rice, not brown long grain rice, and the cooking instructions are spot on--which I appreciate b/c I can never make rice right. I hate when a recipe says "serves 6" but not what the serving size is. I meant to measure, but I think it's at least 1 cup per serving. It was a ton, whatever it was! This is a good basic rice recipe that you can do other things to. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had some leftover instant rice and leftover mixed veggie that I used to make this recipe. I cooked my egg per the recipe and just warmed everthing up in the microwave. Yummy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was very quick, easy and soooo yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was so easy and so good. I admit, I was a bit skeptical about the whole meal being from the micro...but I thought it was wonderful! I did skip the ham and used some leftover chicken I had from another dish. I ate it for lunch two days in a row and will definitely make it again. For me, I actually like it better than the other more traditional fried rice recipes I have tried from here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We found this to be too salty for us and also the rice did not cook. I don't know what happened, because all of the reviews say how good it is. Maybe it was the ham I used or something? Sorry, it just didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Photo by cakenbake
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I just made this for my mom and I. I followed the directions to the T until the rice wasn't cooking. So I had to add an extra 1 1/2c water. Then finished it off how the directions said. We sat down and agreed, it had a little too much soy sauce in it. I'd maybe make it again but use less soy sauce and more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakenbake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Simple to make. I couldn't wait to taste it. It was pretty good. I thought it needed a touch of salt, I used low sodium soy and bouillon in this, maybe that's why. It tasted a little bitter or sour to me. I added just pinch of sugar, shake of salt and pepper to my portion and it did make it better. I would make this again as a quick and easy fried rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have to say I was a bit hesitant to try this recipe because I am accustomed to making my fried rice on the stove top. Two things went through my mind before I started and during my making of this recipe - I thought the veggies would be overdone and if it would be too salty (cause bouillon here seems to have lots of salt and adding soy sauce on top of that?!) Boy was I wrong, this was delicious! My worries were all for nothing. Admittedly this takes longer than just frying up leftover rice on the stove but it is great nonetheless. I also thought it was "pale looking" but after giving it a mix with the eggs it turns out lots of the soy sauce settled to the bottom of the dish. My rice got a nice colour at the end. In a pinch when all you have a microwave to "cook" ;) with...this recipe would be top of my list. I left out the ham and added in a chopped sweet pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Although I prefer the "true" fried rice, this recipe saved me because the main chicken dish I had to go with it was a disaster. This rice tasted very good and flavorful. We all liked it and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
THIS IS DELICIOUS!! It's also easy for an after school snack because I can just pop it in the microwave and start my homework. While I was making dinner, it was easy to focus and make the main dish (I ate this as a side). Basically, TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States