Microwave Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Definitely fast, but the end result was strange in texture. I think that the 100% power step needs to be changed to maybe 70% power or something. My flan was not smooth... it was sort of cottage cheese-like. I guess there are some things that you shouldn't try to shortcut. Or maybe it would work better with condensed milk? Evaporated milk? I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was WAY too sweet. More like scrambled eggs with syrup with flan. I agree that the 100% power didn't work at all. Needs to be like 70% for double the time. Sorry! I just thought it was way too sweet and I couldn't eat more than 2 bites, even ignoring the weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
well, if your microwave was 1100 watts, like mine, it'd be cooked in the first four minutes at 50% power! The submitter should be more specific in the instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyevic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
The problem is, that none of you gave a Watt output, as every microwave is different. So has mine only 400, but they edist of 500, 600, and so on. So a percentage is not enough to repeat your flan. Got it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Instead of milk, Try Evaporated milk and COndensed milk. I Eyeballed the ingredients but next time, I'd take the extra time and use the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Way over the top sweet.The recipe should have been 1/2 cup sugar in the egg mixture.I didn't like the texure either.The taste was OK but the sweetness was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I think they mixed up the 100 percent with the fifty percent. You can go with high for the very beginning, but you need to back way off as the eggs start to cook. AND you have to watch it, no matter what your microwave is set for, with eggs they are just too delicate to trust to a recipe, you need to look at them often, and sooner than you expect. Or you get weird chunks of hard custard with runny watery syrup between the chunks. I hope no one else wastes their time with this. And I hope someone writes a GOOD recipe for microwave flan, because it's definitely possible, just not using these instructions. (flan should NEVER boil, ever)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
awful! so disappointed and I was making it for my daughter just coming back from hostel! Feel like adding some bread into it to salvage it >>>Like a modified bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
It turned out nothing like flan. It was chunky. Maybe if you cooked the custard then poured the caramelized sugar on top after cooked... I would just leave it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made it for my boyfriend since he is such a huge Flan fan, it started boiling in the first 3 minutes after the 100%, i let it continue thinking it would stop and solidify, but to no avail. Taste is not to my liking, never fully settled. The user definitely should have been WAY more specific in instructions, DO NOT MAKE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States