Microwave English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This bread was SO easy to make and it turned out great. Never knew I could make such tasty bread in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I never thought you could even make bread in the microwave. These were really good. Tasted just like english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Excellent bread from a m/w oven. I used 1 tsp. of the yeast that is added with the dry ingredients. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The flavor of this loaf is pretty insipid, even when toasted. The dough was also quite sticky and needed about an extra half cup of flour to be able to be handled easily, while still remaining relatively soft. Generally, the proportion of liquid to 3 cups of flour in a bread recipe is 1 cup, not 1-1/4 cups. The taste is definitely dominated by whole wheat, and as such, it didn't taste to us remotely like English muffins. Flavor-wise, it lacks salt, but adding more might inhibit the dough's ability to rise, so do so judiciously. The grain is too close and fine to resemble English muffins. None of the requisite "nooks and crannies" associated with them. The rising technique was definitely cool, however. I'll remember it when I need to get my yeast breads to rise in a hurry. Since my microwave is pretty powerful, I used 40% power for the rise stage, and even so, only had to give it the 1 minute/10 minute wait twice before it rose to 2" above the pan. Interesting premise, but flavor is decidedly lackluster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
My wife has made this recipe for years. It is always in our frige. It makes the BEST garlic bread, french toast, grilled sandwiches, croutons, or just toast and jelly/peanut butter. It's also great with ham/egg/mock Hollandaise - easy eggs benedict.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I used these directions to make Amish White Bread (from this website) in the microwave. I dried out the bread overnight and made homemade Panko breadcrumbs. Thanks for the great instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
It tastes like bread. Really. Great quick snack for the kids, and a good preschool project. Instant gratification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
made this with whole wheat pastry flour. Used wheat bran for the corn meal since I didn't have any. I don't know how much I would say this was like english muffins, but it was definitely good and definitely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Really goog, coming from a microwave. You will need to watch/check it carefullt if you have a 1000 Watt microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA
Living In: Bethel, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Simple and tasty!!! It tasted a little like steamed buns (I've never had english muffins before so I can't compare to that). It was a little denser than normal bread, though. First time I got compliments on a bread recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jinan, Shandong Province, China
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States