Microwave English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Well, I have to say, I am so pleasantly surprised by this bread. It was so easy, relatively healthy (I used skim milk) and delicious to boot! I did 3 cycles, one on 50%, one on 40%, last on 50% in a 1000 watt overn. I did let it rest 10 minutes between those nukes. Then I let it bake for 6 minutes at 100% and it came out so nice. Slices very nicely and toasted up perfect. Thank you for this great recipe, I had no idea you could bake bread in the microwave. Can't wait to try this in the summer when you don't want to heat up the oven but would like a good loaf of homemade bread. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I use this recipe every year in my microwave cooking unit at school. Hard to believe you can make a yeast bread in the microwave. Toasting this bread is a must!!!--it does not have great flavor without the toasting process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
How simple and tasty this bread is. I cant keep enough on hand for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I have this recipe somewhere but unable to locate it since the move! I found this in a magazine about 25 years ago! It makes the best toast! Thanks so much for posting it as I have been thinking about making some to start freezing. Fall is just around the corner and everyone would appreciate getting this as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The flavor of this loaf is pretty insipid, even when toasted. The dough was also quite sticky and needed about an extra half cup of flour to be able to be handled easily, while still remaining relatively soft. Generally, the proportion of liquid to 3 cups of flour in a bread recipe is 1 cup, not 1-1/4 cups. The taste is definitely dominated by whole wheat, and as such, it didn't taste to us remotely like English muffins. Flavor-wise, it lacks salt, but adding more might inhibit the dough's ability to rise, so do so judiciously. The grain is too close and fine to resemble English muffins. None of the requisite "nooks and crannies" associated with them. The rising technique was definitely cool, however. I'll remember it when I need to get my yeast breads to rise in a hurry. Since my microwave is pretty powerful, I used 40% power for the rise stage, and even so, only had to give it the 1 minute/10 minute wait twice before it rose to 2" above the pan. Interesting premise, but flavor is decidedly lackluster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
My wife has made this recipe for years. It is always in our frige. It makes the BEST garlic bread, french toast, grilled sandwiches, croutons, or just toast and jelly/peanut butter. It's also great with ham/egg/mock Hollandaise - easy eggs benedict.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Really goog, coming from a microwave. You will need to watch/check it carefullt if you have a 1000 Watt microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA
Living In: Bethel, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe is so fun and easy. My family loved it. I will definitely make this again. Best when sliced and toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Homemade english muffin bread in less than an hour! Fantastic. We like it toasted with butter. Will be a weekly recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Not great for using as regular bread but delicious toasted. I could see making a loaf once a week and bringing it everyday to work for breakfast...very interesting recipe--it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States