Microwave Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This is a fantastic, easy way to enjoy corn on the cob. I generally microwave 2 minutes, on high, per cob. It is fast, simple, and tastes the same as boiled corn. Be sure to wrap in the damp paper towels as this helps steam the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1022 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Mmmm...baby! Instead of wet paper towels just leave that sexy thang in da husk an cook it for 3 minutes. But WATCH OUT BABY! that thang is gon' be HOT!! Don' won' ya ta burn dem little tootsies. Butter it up an' salt an' peppa an' you is gon' be a heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1017 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
We've always boiled our corn on the cob, however after reading other reviewers comments here, I convinced my wife to let me microwave them this time. She was sceptical at first, but we both agree now that microwaving brought out better taste in the corn. Instead of wrapping in a wet paper towel however, we simply pulled back the husk to expose about 3/4 of the cob, cleaned out the tassel, rinsed the cob liberally inside and out, then pulled the husk back around the cob. We microwaved two at a time for 2:15 minutes, turned them over, and did them for another 2:15 mins. If you're doing more than two cobs, leave them to continue to steam in their husks until they're all done. Then remove the husk and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
717 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
You can also do this by husking the corn, putting it into a pyrex dish with a tablespoon of water, and covering the dish with plastic wrap, leaving a corner open for steam to escape. Two ears of corn, 8 minutes in my microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Microwaving is our favorite method now. Learned this at Weight Watchers about 5 years ago and unless I need to feed a crowd or want to make Frogmore Stew, we never boil it anymore. Leave the corn in the husks, cut off any floppy silks, and microwave 2-3 minutes per ear. Two ears are ready in 5 minutes in our microwave, but it will vary. And the silks just fall off. The corn is so moist and naturally sweet that we often just skip the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This recipe is terrific. I was looking for an easy-cleanup way to cook corn-on-the-cob, and this is it. I tried it twice, both times with 3 ears of corn at the same tiem. Ten minutes was too long, and 8 minutes turned once halfway through was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I wrap a dry towel around ear of corn and then wet. It's easier then trying to get a limp wet towel around ear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirginiaGent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This couldn't have been any easier, not to mention great tasting! After nuking it in the microwave, I removed the paper towels, buttered the corn and then nuked it in the microwave for a minute longer. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Works like a charm! I can't even tell the difference between this and boiled corn. Since I normally only cook for myself and sometimes one or two other people, this makes more sense than boiling the water and doing it the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I popped it in the microwave, husk and all. Turned out great! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States