Microwave Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
We just butter and palce in a microwave proof dish, cover with plastic rap, cook on high two minutes for each ear of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Learned about this method from a local grower. He said to strip the silk out and pull the husk back up. Microwave 1 ear for 3 minutes and 2 ears for 5 minutes. Haven't boiled corn since the first time I tried it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
There is a much better way. Leave the ear in the husk and microwave it for 4 minutes per ear (8 minutes for 2 ears). When done put on a cutting board and cut off the stem end up about 1 1/2 inches. Now hold the silky top side (with a towel or something so you don't burn yourself) and shake the ear out the end you cut off. It will shake right out without any silk left on the ear. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Forge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I found an awesome way to cook the corn AND eliminate all the messy cleaning--cook the corn--husk, silk and all--at 4 minutes per ear on high. Remove, cut the bottom being sure to get through all layers of the husk, grab the top of the corn with the silk and give it a good shake and the corn slides out silk-free (ok, I had one piece of silk once--lol). I like to grill my corn so I just give it a few more minutes on my bbq to give it that grilled look and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is easy, but I have an easier one: Cut off most of tassel and stalk (nearly up to ear). Shuck corn, leaving about two thicknesses of shuck, and all the silk. Microwave for about 2 min. per ear (can do up to 4 at a time--total time for 4 = 5 min.). Remove carefully (very hot) and finish shucking, using hand protection. Silks come off easily and completely. Unshucked ears can be left in turned-off microwave so as to keep hot for second helping. Cay from FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Something I learned a few years ago, pop the corn in the microwave, husks silks and all. Nuke 4 minutes. Use oven mitts cut the end off about 1 inch and hold by the silk and shake..I sometimes have to shake a few times, and corn comes out clean, cooked and ready to eat..So much easier than trying to pull all that silk off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
It's an amazing idea to boil the corn this way. I tried it for the first time,put some salted butter and freshly ground peppered loved it till the last bite. I made 6 of them in two batches microwaved for 10 minutes eachtime and reused the paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
As the original submitter suggested, I opted for this method because we ran out of room on the grill and stovetop. (What was I thinking, making all that food?) We all thought it was great and, unlike a previous reviewer, I'd much rather put one plate in the dishwasher than wash a pot. Thank you for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Awesome, but DON'T bother with husking and wet paper towel!! Just 2min in the microwave, and the husk and silkys come off way easier, and it is far more flavorful than boiling water! Yummm and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillyhusky
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
It doesn't get much easier cooking corn on the cob then this recipe. I cooked 2 ears and it took exactly 5 minutes in my microwave. This works great when you only want 1 or 2 ears of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States