Microwave Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
no need to husk it first...easier to put all in microwave and cook for 4 minutes per ear...when done cut off stalk end and squeeze top, corn slides out with no silk. perfect everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Family thought the corn was too chewy and I must agree. I prefer boiling it in the pot over this method anyday. Although quicker, it didn't work for me for taste. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I have been nuking my corn on the cob for years & love the flavor (most veggies have better flavor when nuked) as well as the convenience. Helps keep the house cooler in the summer too. I used to put the husked ears in a plastic bag with a Tbsp or 2 of water but since then I've found a simpler way. I just microwave them husk & all 4.5 min. for 1 ear, 6 min. for 2 & so on, adjusting the time for the number of ears. Just last week-end I did 6 ears for a family BBQ. 10 minutes & they were perfect. When they're done I handle them with oven mitts. They peel easily & the silk comes off quickly too. Everyone raved about how good the corn was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Try spreading with margarine first, wrap each ear in waxed paper, then wrap in plastic wrap to seal in the juices. This is my family's favorite way to taste the freshness and already have the corn buttered to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
You don't even have to clean it first. Place the ear , with the husk on, in the microwave for 5 min. When you take it out, use a towel or gloves. Cut off about half an inch of the bottom, with the husk. Grab the husk,at the top and shake the ear right out onto your plate. Clean, hot and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I usually use wax paper, microwave on high for six minutes then watch out it is going to be hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
A much easier way to microwave corn on the cob. Place ear of corn unhusked in microwave, cook on high 4 min for each ear you cook. Remove corn and using a sharp knife, cut about 1 to 2 inches up on the bottom of the ear, making sure to cut all the way through the husk. Grab ear by silk end and shake a few times til corm falls out. This will give you a completely clean silk free ear of corn. No soaking is needed before microwaving. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Microwave in husk for 8 minutes. Move to cutting board and cut the ear across at the thickest point. Lift ear by silks end and shake ear out gently. Voila! No silks to strip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotTarheel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
4 stars as is. 5 if you make it simpler and peel off all but the last few husks surrounding the corn. Don't worry about the silks. Microwave for 3 minutes an ear (Mine is 1250 Watt on high power). Use potholders to finish shucking the corn, the silks slide right off. I did 4 ears the other night and turned them over after 6 minutes. I have done 3 and let them go for 9 minutes without touching them. Perfect every time. Much healthier than boiling away the nutrients, and a definite time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
i leave the husks on and microwave for 3 mins per cob and let them cool for a few mins.. then pull back the husks and remove the sulk and use the husks to hold the cob while i butter and salt and pepper it and eat it... so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badgladie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States