Microwave Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
No need to use paper towels if you have husks still on. If you have corn still in the husk, peel off a couple of the drier outer leaves, pull off the clump of threads hanging off the top, wash it a bit, put it on a plate and microwave for approx 2 mins per ear (smaller size ear is what I tested on). When done peel off husk (use gloves - it's HOT!) and threads will come right off too. DELICIOUS and soo easy! Never thought you could microwave corn with such wonderful results! Thanks for posting - and thanks for the reviews tthat had this suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Big fan of this in our house for many years... We get fresh corn usually with the husk on and slightly open from the top and rinse a little water in.. Afterwards, close up the husk and microwave for 3 minutes and deliciousness has arrived! The husk does much the same what the paper towel does by trapping and steaming the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Wow. This couldn't have turned out better. I did the paper towel method, since one of the ears was half shucked at the store. I broke them in half and then they easily wrapped in one tear off half sheet of paper towel. 5 minutes exactly for two ears (four half ears) worked great! So sweet. I will never boil again! One hint: be sure to unwrap the corn at the time you plan to eat them, I left one ear wrapped up and when I unwrapped it 10 minutes later it was a tad wrinkly (though still yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I've never heard of cooking corn on the cob this way but loved the idea since we had all the stove burners in use as well as the grill. Worked like a charm and I'll be using this method from now on. The corn was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I put the corns in the microwave. It was hot when I got it out and I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Sooo easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I was at my parents for dinner a week ago and my Mom just showed me that for a while now, she's been cooking their corn on the cob in the microwave... I was shocked! It's PERFECTION! I put four ears, cleaned and bare, in a gallon size baggie. Seal the baggie closed leaving a tiny spot open for very little steam to escape, I cook the four ears for 8 minutes in my microwave and they are wonderful! I will probably never boil my corn again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjarz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Never knew you could do corn on the cob this way! how easy and no steam on a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Followed other reviewers' advice and cut off the silk on the end of the cob, peeled off some of the outer husk (so you're basically steaming the cob) and microwaved on high for six minutes for two ears of corn. Every bit as good as boiled corn, with no heating up the kitchen or a dirty pot to wash after dinner. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I didn't need any seasoning, it was that delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States