Microwave Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Fantastic way to cook corn - but you don't have to husk it - just stick whole ear in microwave and nuke about 2 minutes an ear -it stays warm in the husks until you are ready to peel and eat. Our favorite way to cook corn. I also freeze it, but I freeze it whole and thaw in frig overnight. tates like just picked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Microwaved corn is the best! I use wax paper - it holds the moisture in so that the corn steams itself, no need for water at all. I break the ear in half first, put the halves back together and roll in a sheet of wax paper, starting in a corner and rolling to the opposite corner. Just twist the ends to seal, and when the corn is ready, the ends make a cool place to touch when you pull the corn out of the microwave onto a plate. The wax paper just breaks apart as you are doing this, so the cleanup is super easy! When I'm craving something salty I sometimes have an ear as a snack, it's just so quick and better for you than other salty snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Don't recommend putting corn in a plastic baggie as one reviewer said - not safe to use plastic in a microwave, no matter what it says. Just as easy to wrap in wet paper towel and microwave 1 ear for 2-3 minutes. No need to turn if your microwave has a self-turning plate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I microwave fresh corn in the husk and use silicone pot holders to peel them after they're cooked (prevents me from getting burned!) Also, I store fresh corn wrapped in damp dishtowels in the veggie crisper.....they stay fresh quite a while this way! I do check the towels daily to make sure they stay damp. Good tip for summer when corn is cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I wrap a dry towel around ear of corn and then wet. It's easier then trying to get a limp wet towel around ear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirginiaGent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This didn't turn out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Too much fuss. Just put corn in microwave (husk and all!!). Microwave 5 minutes for 1 corn, 6 min for 2. When done put on an oven mitt and peal back husk. This stays moist AND keeps the corn taste. KEEP IT BASIC!! Also good on a campfire like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goflyaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Have been microwaving corn for years rather than boiling - never take all the husk off just tidy it up a little. (Taking the husk off before cooking 'ages' the kernels really fast and makes them dry ....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
No need to use paper towels if you have husks still on. If you have corn still in the husk, peel off a couple of the drier outer leaves, pull off the clump of threads hanging off the top, wash it a bit, put it on a plate and microwave for approx 2 mins per ear (smaller size ear is what I tested on). When done peel off husk (use gloves - it's HOT!) and threads will come right off too. DELICIOUS and soo easy! Never thought you could microwave corn with such wonderful results! Thanks for posting - and thanks for the reviews tthat had this suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Big fan of this in our house for many years... We get fresh corn usually with the husk on and slightly open from the top and rinse a little water in.. Afterwards, close up the husk and microwave for 3 minutes and deliciousness has arrived! The husk does much the same what the paper towel does by trapping and steaming the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States