Microwave Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Outstanding!!! I used the Hershey's Dark Cocoa instead of regular. The pie tasted like a Hershey Bar! No more standing over the stove constantly stirring!! The best chocolate pie ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Somerville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This makes a wonderful base for banana or coconut cream pie also, just omit the cocoa. I do find that when I make it without the cocoa that I do have to cook it about a minute longer in the first step than I usually do to get it to thicken. I usually make a chocolate and a banana cream for when we have family nights and everyone is here. Slice 2 bananas in the bottom of your cooled crust and then add the pudding mixture after it is slightly cooled. I usually top with whipped topping and toasted sliced almonds. (If using coconut stir in 1/2 cup or amount desired into the mixture after stirring in butter and vanilla, then pour into crust.) All are huge hits at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I have to say that I've now made this pie 4 or 5 times, each time with great success. Today, here in NC, we are as snowed in as we ever get, so I'm cooking. Mix up my pie filling, look back at the recipe only to realize I've added an extra half cup of milk! I added a spoonful of extra cornstarch and whisked like crazy, and it still thickened and tastes great. As always, I top mine with whipped cream, since we don't like meringue! If you are like me, and "puddings" never seem to do right when you do them stovetop, this is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This never did set for me, despite following the recipe. I'm not sure what went wrong. I'll keep looking for a good recipe for chocolate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zhou
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Loved the rich chocolate flavor!! So easy and so yummy! My husband raved about it. It's definitely a keeper! Thanks for the wonderful recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Quick, easy, and absolutely delicious! I found this recipe when I needed a quick dessert that didn't require many ingredients. EVERYONE raved about this pie. My father-in-law also commented about how it has a great taste without a whole lot of sugar (he's a diabetic). I just finished making another one to take to Thanksgiving dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Afton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was really good and very easy. I didn't have cream of tartar, but my meringue turned out just fine. Next time I may actually double the meringue because I like more, but all and all it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Very dark chocolate. Great flavor and easy to make, though I think I'd personally prefer the meringue to be a bit higher. My husband, who normally doesn't like chocolate pie, scraped his plate clean and wanted assurance there was going to be some left for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I have been making chocolate pies like this for years. It also works for coconut (leave off the chocolate and add coconut, sprinkling coconut on the meringue). The only difference in this recipe and mine is that I use 1 cup of sugar and 6 T of cocoa along with 3T flour and 1 1/2 T cornstarch. This makes a little more filling and I like the texture better than using just cornstarch for thickening. I also use a wire whisk to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
YUMMY!!! Not only is this very good, it's soooooo easy. No standing over a hot stove and stirring until your arm hurts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States