Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I have never made a microwave cake before this but if you are curious, you should try this one. It was moist and delicious. Had some left over the next day and was even better a day later. I have a 1200 W Whirlpool microwave and the cake baked completely in exactly 6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
YUM! I was looking for a quick and easy chocolate cake recipe to fix my chocolate craving and this is it!! Whoever had a problem with texture perhaps you over cooked it. Microwaves can be tricky but just like any baking you have to check check check. 8 minutes was perfect in my microwave and the cake came out so light and delicate and fluffy. This entire recipe was SO quick and easy to prepare using basic ingredients. The cake alone was not as chocolatey as I typically would like and the sauce alone seemed a bit on the sweet side, but together...OH MY!!! Decadently delicious. The combination was the perfect balance and I couldn't stop eating it! Thank you! My husband is also a chocoholic and a critic...he gobbled this one down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This cake was pretty good. Did not make the sauce. Even with adding mini chocolate chips to the batter it was not chocolatey enough for me. The texture and moisture was fine. Served it with fresh whipped cream. Next time I'll make a genach to get more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made EXACTLY as directed and everything was perfect! Cake was delicious, sauce added that perfect finish! I will make this again! Notes: Used a 1 and a half quart glass casserole dish (round works best in microwave) and microwaved cake for under 5 minutes in my 1000 watt microwave. If you leave just a bit of moisture in the center, it will finish with a 5 minute stand time after removing from microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
It's a rare day I have butter, milk, and eggs at the same time so this recipe is perfect for me! The cake is very light and airy with subtle flavors. I love that it isn't very sweet, but will do more cocoa next time. I did not like the sauce because it is VERY sweet! Mine set up after 30 seconds so I would suggest stirring every 15 seconds if you have a newer microwave. But, I will dust it with powdered sugar and pass on the glaze from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
dear mary brenneman, thank u for sharing this recipe.its very useful for whipping up a dessert in the last minute, esp with the chocolate sauce.i tried this recipe in the microwave and cooked it for about 7.5 minutes.the corners of the cake were hard, but the centre part was good to eat.overall the cake was a little dense, but palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wonderful! Made as is...except did not make the sauce, was craving caramel instead so I made a simple caramel peanut butter sauce instead. Fantastic with or without the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe overall, but it needs something with it -- by itself it isn't quite flavorful enough. I was looking for a quick, fairly small recipe to make cake pops with, and this turned out to be exactly what I needed. I didn't make the chocolate sauce, but the chocolate coating on the pops balanced that out. I do recommend this recipe to anyone who wants something quick, easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Sooo good I didn't make any changes. Definitely hit the spot for chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The cake was okay, I thought the flavor was okay and texture was fine. But the sauce did not thicken at all. After microwaving for 1 minute, it was as thin as water... like watery hot chocolate. But I made a slurry with more cornstarch and water and microwaved it for longer. I had to stop and whisk it together every 30 seconds or so, because it was thickening around the sides but not in the middle. It finally came together and I added a bit more butter, more vanilla, and added a sprinkle of instant coffee. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treesyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States