Microwave Caramel Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is SOOOO good and easy! However, do yourself a favor. First, transfer your popcorn into a blow and then to another, leaving all of the unpoped kernels at the bottom of the first bowl. Toss the unpoped kernels. Return popcorn to bowl. This takes less than a minute and saves you a lot of time later (you don't have to find the unpoped kernels stuck in caramel!) When my caramel mixture was ready, I poured it unto the popcorn and tossed the caramel eavenly in the bowl to make sure the popcorn got evenly coated. Then, I transfered the coated popcorn into the brown paper bag. Depending on your microwave, it might be smart to cook it only 30 sec. at a time or to reduce the power because the first time I made it it burned. I cooked mine for 1:30 minutes (30 sec. at a time) at a reduced 50% power and it turned out perfectly. Note: For dairy-free version, replace the butter with 1/2 cup of Safflower oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
523 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Another tip. Spray the inside of your paper bag with Pam cooking spray before adding the popcorn. It helps keep the caramel from sticking to the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Awesome! Didn't read all reviews first and burned the caramel in my first attempt - so pay attention to the cooking time (it's only a few minutes after all : ) ). The second time I cooked the caramel sauce for 1.5 minutes, stirred than another 1.5 minutes then added the baking soda. When I re-microwaved it I only did 45 seconds per side and it turned out perfectly! Also as with other reviewers, I halved the recipe and used one bag of microwave popcorn. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
warning....do not make if you are looking for a little something to satisfy your sweet tooth...because you will eat way tooo much of this stuff. the beauty of this treat is how quickly it comes together and then wow.....pure delight to the taste buds. i had no trouble with preparing...only trouble is it is way addicting!!! before my husband and i knew it we had polished off the whole bowl. i will definately make again but not often...too fattening and too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Ok, this is soooo good. I have made caramel popcorn the "old fashioned" way many times. Never again. This was so easy and quick and tastes just as good (if not better) than traditional. Couple of notes though: First, real butter is so much better and worth the extra cost because you can really taste the difference. Second, my butter/brown sugar mix boiled over in the m/w and made a big sticky mess which I then had to put the bag on, so I suggest you put a plate under the bowl to catch any mess. Third, I used m/w popcorn, I just omitted the salt and ate some while the butter/sugar mix was cooking. My bag says that each bag makes 10 cups, so it's about 4 cups too much. I used two bags (most of two bags, anyway) Terrific recipe, LOVE IT. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I didn't think I had any corn syrup, (I actually did) so I used honey. It still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
it was soooooo good the second time. NOTE TO EVERYONE: THE BAKING SODA IS IMPORTANT!!! the first time i made this i didn't have baking soda so i didn't use it. and it was gross, the butter and karo syrup dont combine and it had oily karo syrup on the top. but luckily the second time i was smart and i did use it. ps: the caramel is a good ice cream topping!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I just ate a whole batch myself! I did halve the recipe, but still, it's just way too good. I used one bag of microwave popcorn which made 4 cups of popped corn, so I halved the caramel ingredients. I was concerned about messing and burning, as other readers had mentioned, but none of that happened. I pretty much followed the directions. On putting the bag back in microwave I set the timer for 1 minute instead of 1 minute 10 seconds, twice, as called for. Everything perfect. Thank you for a great recipe, I'm sure I'll make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was the easiest thing to make EVER!! I am famous for messing up the "easy" recipes but this was so incredibly easy and holy cow, FAST!! I still used the microwave popcorn (Store Brand in Natural Light Flavor) and used 16 cups of popcorn (approx. 1 1/2 bags) and used real unsalted butter (popcorn already had salt). Make sure you don't fold your bag down too far and not leave enough room for the popcorn to shake around in. Thank you for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
First of all, this popcorn turned out great. It was easy to make, and the cleanup was a snap. I made this recipe using 2 bags of microwave popcorn. The box said that each bag was 12 cups popped, but when I measured it after popping it, it was actually 8 cups per bag. This made 2 bags perfect for this recipe (4 quarts exactly). I did not have any paper bags to toss the popcorn in (who does anymore?), so I used the empty microwave popcorn bags instead! Since they are made to fit 12 cups of popped popcorn, and they actually only popped 8, there was enough room in each bag to fit half of the caramel popcorn back into each one for the second part of the recipe. The whole process was like this: pop the popcorn, pour both bags into a large bowl, dump it into another large bowl and remove the un-popped kernels from the bottom. Split the popcorn in half (half in each bowl), cook the ingredients for the caramel as directed in the recipe, pour half of the caramel onto the popcorn in each bowl, mix the caramel into the popcorn using a couple of large spoons, pour each bowl of popcorn into its own empty microwave popcorn bag, and then microwave each popcorn bag individually as directed. My microwave is high-powered, so I did 1 minute at 50% power, then shook the bag, then did another minute at 50% power. It worked great! Since microwave popcorn bags are wax-lined, the caramel didn't stick to them at all, and everything worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States