Microwave Caramel Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was really craving caramel popcorn tonight, but I was out of both margarine/butter and didn't have any corn syrup. I read the reviews and decided to use Canola oil and honey as two different reviewers had done. The first mixture turned out a bit oily after cooking for the 3 minutes and the 1 1/2 minutes and adding the baking soda. I decided to drain off about 1/2 of the remaining oil on top and let the popcorn absorb the rest. I poured the caramel over the pre-popped popcorn (with the unpopped kernels removed) that I placed in a large, greased bowl. I stirred it as best as possible and then placed it in the pam-sprayed paper grocery bag. At this point I still wasn't optimistic of the results, but I forged ahead! I microwaved it in the bag for 1 minute, shook, flipped, and microwaved it for 45 seconds the second time. I have a 1200 watt microwave and I think I will reduced the first microwaving to 45 seconds as well. I opened the bag and much to my delight it looked and smelled delicious! I let it cool on a wax-paper lined cookie sheet and my craving it satisfied. This was amazingly easy and I can only imagine how rich it will taste with real butter, corn syrup, and some peanuts the next time a craving hits! I think this recipe is extremely adaptable to other flavor additions as well. Pinning this one to Pinterest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
For 1/2 cup of kernels (~16 cups air-popped corn), I altered the recipe to make 1.5 times the amount of caramel. I also added about 2 cups of whole almonds, pecans and walnuts and it was a wonderful crunchy addition. However, I ended up microwaving the coated popcorn to dry it out in 5 batches, for about 4 to 5 minutes each at 50% power. It still didn't end up as dry/crunchy as I would like, but I think only I noticed the difference. For a quick-and-easy caramel popcorn recipe, this is definitely a keeper. YUM - my husband and I finished all 16 cups in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Super easy, and delicious! I only microwaved it for 1.5 minutes, and then 1.5 minutes for a total of three minutes. Mine was sticky, just like we like it! We don't microwave it after we put it on the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was truly as easy as it says and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Followed directions exactly and this recipe came out amazing. Will not be buying any more of that expensive caramel popcorn. This was fantastic. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Like Aunt Nan's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
using the helpful tip to stir in a bowl before putting in the paper bag made this a great recipe! So fast, less cleanup, and the caramel is more equally spread than any other recipe I've used. I found that my batch was a little sticky, so I spread the caramel corn out on a pan that I had covered with parchment paper and put in the over at 250 degrees for about half an hour, stirring every 10-15 minutes. This is what the stove top recipes do, and I found that it made the caramel corn crispy. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I have failed (BADLY) at making "traditional" caramel corn, so I am thrilled that this recipe worked. And it's so simple! I only had a medium sized paper bag from the liquor store, so I cut the recipe in half and used one bag of microwave popcorn. I microwaved the syrup ingredients for 90 seconds, stirred, and nuked for another 90 seconds. Just as a warning: The baking soda is absolutely integral. After the kernels were coated, I microwaved the paper bag for 45 seconds at a time, instead of the originally suggested 1 min 10 sec. The caramel corn is cooling now, and it looks and smells great! (Okay, it tastes great, too, because I ate about a quarter of it as I was spreading it on the wax paper.) Remember that if you're using salted popcorn, skip or reduce the salt in the caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Very easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Easy and delicious! Was gone in seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell
Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States