Microwave Caramel Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
YUM!! And so easy! Well, a lot more work than regular popcorn but this was my first attempt attempt at caramel popcorn and it was a hit. I admit I toned down the popcorn to topping ratio a bit to be healthier. I made it 75% strength (3QT popcorn to 1/2 this recipe of toppings). Also toned down the microwave time. I did 15 second at 80% power for each of FOUR turns, shaking each time. Easy enough and yummy for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Margarine? You're kidding, right? Only the real thing will do. (That's butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bisaillon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
we've made this several times! it's easy and delicious! one note on popcorn measurements: the small boxes of micro popcorn contain 3 x 3.3 oz bags. This pops out to just 1 quart! So stock up on the pantry-friendly popcorn if you want to have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Castroville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Easy Peasy! And delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby
Home Town: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was really craving caramel popcorn tonight, but I was out of both margarine/butter and didn't have any corn syrup. I read the reviews and decided to use Canola oil and honey as two different reviewers had done. The first mixture turned out a bit oily after cooking for the 3 minutes and the 1 1/2 minutes and adding the baking soda. I decided to drain off about 1/2 of the remaining oil on top and let the popcorn absorb the rest. I poured the caramel over the pre-popped popcorn (with the unpopped kernels removed) that I placed in a large, greased bowl. I stirred it as best as possible and then placed it in the pam-sprayed paper grocery bag. At this point I still wasn't optimistic of the results, but I forged ahead! I microwaved it in the bag for 1 minute, shook, flipped, and microwaved it for 45 seconds the second time. I have a 1200 watt microwave and I think I will reduced the first microwaving to 45 seconds as well. I opened the bag and much to my delight it looked and smelled delicious! I let it cool on a wax-paper lined cookie sheet and my craving it satisfied. This was amazingly easy and I can only imagine how rich it will taste with real butter, corn syrup, and some peanuts the next time a craving hits! I think this recipe is extremely adaptable to other flavor additions as well. Pinning this one to Pinterest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
For 1/2 cup of kernels (~16 cups air-popped corn), I altered the recipe to make 1.5 times the amount of caramel. I also added about 2 cups of whole almonds, pecans and walnuts and it was a wonderful crunchy addition. However, I ended up microwaving the coated popcorn to dry it out in 5 batches, for about 4 to 5 minutes each at 50% power. It still didn't end up as dry/crunchy as I would like, but I think only I noticed the difference. For a quick-and-easy caramel popcorn recipe, this is definitely a keeper. YUM - my husband and I finished all 16 cups in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Super easy, and delicious! I only microwaved it for 1.5 minutes, and then 1.5 minutes for a total of three minutes. Mine was sticky, just like we like it! We don't microwave it after we put it on the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was truly as easy as it says and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Followed directions exactly and this recipe came out amazing. Will not be buying any more of that expensive caramel popcorn. This was fantastic. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Like Aunt Nan's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States