Microwave Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Tried the chocolate w/cherry pie filling in a silicon bundt cake pan, 1000 microwave w/turntable. 10min and cake was soft moist and delicious. turned out easy, no sticking, no soft spots. Next to try a Spice cake w/apple pie filling. sprinkle chopped nuts in bottom of bundt pan, add 1/2 cup applesauce & 1 tsp. vanilla extract. mix all as before, pour over nuts, bake 12 min. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I forgot how easy and delicious this recipe is! I just made one with yellow cake mix and cherry pie filling -- my personal favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Didn't cook for me. Remained spongy and kind of gooey. I have a good microwave oven, so not sure why. I used a microwave- safe bundt pan. Cooked for the length of time suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Finally! A microwaved cake! I tried other recipes here (ones that require the conventional oven, with preheating process) but used my microwave oven, and the result was not that pleasing: the cake turned out soggy, or parts of it were uncooked! I haven't tried making this yet, but here's a tip to anyone who wants to make cakes from the conventional oven recipes and bake 'em in the microwave oven: reduce the water content in the recipe by 1/3. That way you won't get a soggy cake after the specified cooking time. AND! don't overcook the cake in the microwave, or else it'll dry up after the standing time and you'll get a hard cake instead of a soft, sliceable one. A 15- or 30-second excess time on high can spell DISASTER to your microwaved cake! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This cake was AMAZING... very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Sorry but I tried the chocolate/cherry cake 3 times using a stoneware bundt cake pan. Twice in my 1.58Kw microwave and once at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes in a conventional oven. The results were terrible. The microwave left the cake wet like pudding at the top with a rubbery texture. The oven version, though not wet but too moist and then the next day...rubbery. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJV573

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Although easy to make, this cake wasn't for me. For some reason it turned out drier and hard on the bottom but the rest of the cake had a more rubbery consistency. Since there is no heat, it had an anemic look so you have to use icing. I tasted it again the next day but it was dry and somewhat tasteless except for the apple pie filling pieces. I wouldn't make again. I made with the apple pie filling and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I thought this was pretty neat the way it cooked up so quickly! I didn't really follow the recipe though so I don't know if I can review it fairly. I did the same steps but I changed the ingredients. I only had a white cake mix, so I followed the review of another reviewer and used white cake mix, 3 eggs, 1 can of cherry pie filling, 1/2 cup applesauce, and about maybe a cup of chocolate chips. I cooked them in oversized mugs and they turned out great! Very moist and tasty! I even had funfetti icing which added even more taste! Thanks for a fun, easy recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Could not be easier! I made this for my niece's birthday (because I needed something quick) and it was a hit. I used Spice Cake with Apple Pie Filling and it was delicious. Serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was delicious. Very good warm! I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the top which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam D. Amos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States