Microwave Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Tried the chocolate w/cherry pie filling in a silicon bundt cake pan, 1000 microwave w/turntable. 10min and cake was soft moist and delicious. turned out easy, no sticking, no soft spots. Next to try a Spice cake w/apple pie filling. sprinkle chopped nuts in bottom of bundt pan, add 1/2 cup applesauce & 1 tsp. vanilla extract. mix all as before, pour over nuts, bake 12 min. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I forgot how easy and delicious this recipe is! I just made one with yellow cake mix and cherry pie filling -- my personal favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Didn't cook for me. Remained spongy and kind of gooey. I have a good microwave oven, so not sure why. I used a microwave- safe bundt pan. Cooked for the length of time suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Finally! A microwaved cake! I tried other recipes here (ones that require the conventional oven, with preheating process) but used my microwave oven, and the result was not that pleasing: the cake turned out soggy, or parts of it were uncooked! I haven't tried making this yet, but here's a tip to anyone who wants to make cakes from the conventional oven recipes and bake 'em in the microwave oven: reduce the water content in the recipe by 1/3. That way you won't get a soggy cake after the specified cooking time. AND! don't overcook the cake in the microwave, or else it'll dry up after the standing time and you'll get a hard cake instead of a soft, sliceable one. A 15- or 30-second excess time on high can spell DISASTER to your microwaved cake! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This cake was AMAZING... very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Sorry but I tried the chocolate/cherry cake 3 times using a stoneware bundt cake pan. Twice in my 1.58Kw microwave and once at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes in a conventional oven. The results were terrible. The microwave left the cake wet like pudding at the top with a rubbery texture. The oven version, though not wet but too moist and then the next day...rubbery. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJV573

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Although easy to make, this cake wasn't for me. For some reason it turned out drier and hard on the bottom but the rest of the cake had a more rubbery consistency. Since there is no heat, it had an anemic look so you have to use icing. I tasted it again the next day but it was dry and somewhat tasteless except for the apple pie filling pieces. I wouldn't make again. I made with the apple pie filling and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I thought this was pretty neat the way it cooked up so quickly! I didn't really follow the recipe though so I don't know if I can review it fairly. I did the same steps but I changed the ingredients. I only had a white cake mix, so I followed the review of another reviewer and used white cake mix, 3 eggs, 1 can of cherry pie filling, 1/2 cup applesauce, and about maybe a cup of chocolate chips. I cooked them in oversized mugs and they turned out great! Very moist and tasty! I even had funfetti icing which added even more taste! Thanks for a fun, easy recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Could not be easier! I made this for my niece's birthday (because I needed something quick) and it was a hit. I used Spice Cake with Apple Pie Filling and it was delicious. Serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was delicious. Very good warm! I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the top which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam D. Amos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States