Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
These taste great and are SOOOO simple! I've made them three or four times for get-togethers and everyone has loved them. I shorten the time to cool by sticking them in the freezer for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
These pickles are very sweet and very easy to make. I made a batch for my daughters class when they had a sandwich party and they were gone in no time!! Great on sandwiches also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I never liked bread and butter pickles until I went to Lambert's restuarant. I tried their's and fell in love. I craved them day after day after that, but the restaurant is 2 hours from my town. I made this recipe and behold! I now do not have to drive any distance to enjoy them. I signed up with this website just to write this review! I mean it...TOP NOTCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILLYPICKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Fulton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fulton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I made these last summer in my first attempt to jar food, which actually turned out to be a wonderful experience! These pickles were absolutely awesome and really easy to make! The only thing I did different was can them. Everyone that had them thought they were wonderful and I had many requests for more jars. I only made 1 case of small jars and 3 large mason jars full, but this coming summer I am planning to be a little more ambitious and make more. I did make one variation on some of the jars which I think came out fantastic and that was that I had dehydrated red cayenne peppers and I added 1 to some of the smaller jars and 3 or 4 to the large jars. Not only did it add color to the jar, but they really tasted great, especially if you are a spice fan! I added more onion to my pickles as that was the way that I remembered them from my childhood. My Nanny made some of the best Bread and Butter pickles that I have ever tasted....these are certainly close to her recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Excellent recipe. So quick and very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
So easy, so quick, so good! Better make a double batch cause they don't last long. You can eat them as soon as they get cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Really great. Exactly what I wanted and took less than no time to make. I did can half the recipe in a boilng water bath and those were a bit limp when I opened them later, but the ones that were not processed were fantastic. I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
These are great!! And so easy!! I did add a little garlic the second time I made them - both were wonderful. One of the best things about this is that it makes a small quantity. There are only 2 of us now at home (empty nesters)and it is so hard to find recipes for 2 persons. Can you make dill pickles this same way also? Happy cooking to all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Another recipe of which I was initially in doubt, however I was quickly converted. These are excellent, especially for the time involved and store very well in the refridgerator - I have kept batches several months and they are still wonderful. I have found that one can easily triple the recipe, but you should add another quarter of the time to the microwaving (i.e. instead of 24 minutes, do about 32 minutes in the microwave - 8 minutes apart with a stirring at the end of each 8 minutes.). Also, adding one garlic clove, finely minced, imparts a very nice flavor. Vidalia onions have been my favorite for the onion and I usually double the amount of onion called for in the recipe. Great recipe and a hit with all relatives and people at work so far! Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This recipe was awesome! It was my first time making cooked pickles. It is wonderful to have a recipe that doesn't make tons of pickles. I did add a little garlic. They tasted just like the real thing, with a lot less work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States