Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I made these last summer in my first attempt to jar food, which actually turned out to be a wonderful experience! These pickles were absolutely awesome and really easy to make! The only thing I did different was can them. Everyone that had them thought they were wonderful and I had many requests for more jars. I only made 1 case of small jars and 3 large mason jars full, but this coming summer I am planning to be a little more ambitious and make more. I did make one variation on some of the jars which I think came out fantastic and that was that I had dehydrated red cayenne peppers and I added 1 to some of the smaller jars and 3 or 4 to the large jars. Not only did it add color to the jar, but they really tasted great, especially if you are a spice fan! I added more onion to my pickles as that was the way that I remembered them from my childhood. My Nanny made some of the best Bread and Butter pickles that I have ever tasted....these are certainly close to her recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These turned out great! Following others' advice, I only used 1/2 cup of sugar (which was plenty), and I added 1 clove of fresh garlic (minced) and 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes. Microwaved for 8 minutes, and they taste fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I never liked bread and butter pickles until I went to Lambert's restuarant. I tried their's and fell in love. I craved them day after day after that, but the restaurant is 2 hours from my town. I made this recipe and behold! I now do not have to drive any distance to enjoy them. I signed up with this website just to write this review! I mean it...TOP NOTCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILLYPICKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Fulton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fulton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
OK - yum!!!!! But I do love bread and butter pickles! I followed this recipe to a T (didn't decrease the sugar at all). I'm a Southerner at heart and love the sweetness. They were quick and easy although I did try doubling and tripling which caused me to have to microwave them a bit longer. I tried making them with and without garlic and didn't notice a big difference but didn't add that much garlic. I also tried totally peeling the cukes as I felt the skins were a bit tough but they just didn't look the same. After filling the hot jars, I stuck them in a boiling water bath for about 10 minutes and they sealed immediately so I can enjoy throughout the winter. I used regular cukes (not English) and sweet Vidalia onions. IN fact, I may have added a bit more onion than called for. Next time I may add a bit of sweet red pepper for color. I gave some to my friend and she said her mom CRIED when she ate them as they reminded her of the pickles she helped her Mom make when she was a kid. That's a true testimony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
These pickles are absolutely delicious and easy. I only used 2/3 cup sugar for a little less sweetness. In a couple batches I added a variety of peppers from my garden. Great recipe! One more thing, it says 1 cucumber and I used about 5 pickle size cucs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
So easy, so quick, so good! Better make a double batch cause they don't last long. You can eat them as soon as they get cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Really great. Exactly what I wanted and took less than no time to make. I did can half the recipe in a boilng water bath and those were a bit limp when I opened them later, but the ones that were not processed were fantastic. I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
We have never made pickles before and this was the easiest and most delious bread and butter pickles that we could ever imagine. They taste like mom used to make! I was giving the receipe to a friend and they don't have any jars, do you suppose you could just use a tight fitting rubbermaid bowl or something like that. We will be making these again and there is no need to buy Bread and Butter Pickles in the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
These pickles are very sweet and very easy to make. I made a batch for my daughters class when they had a sandwich party and they were gone in no time!! Great on sandwiches also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
These taste great and are SOOOO simple! I've made them three or four times for get-togethers and everyone has loved them. I shorten the time to cool by sticking them in the freezer for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States