Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I haven't allowed these to stand in the refrigerator long enough for the flavors to develop, but I already like them. I was skeptical that the heat of the microwave, or rather the way the microwave heats somewhat unevenly, would make for a limp pickle. I've canned pickles for years, but with the family shrinking, I thought I'd try this recipe. I did double it, since I had several pickling cucumbers to use up, and they already impress me with good flavor and crispness. I usually use cider vinegar in bread and butter pickles, but used white as the recipe stated. I did use some mixed pickling spice instead of the mustard seed simply to use it up. The whole batch is in a large glass jar in the refrigerator, and will surely not last long. This is a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe and method. Additional note: After keeping some for a few months in the fridge, I can say that these only improved with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Best way to make bread and butter pickles. I backed off the sugar by a 1/3 of a cup. Thanks D. Ray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Super easy recipe! Absolutely delicious. So good I just fix me a small bowl of them for a little snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is by far the easiest recipe for bread and butter pickles that I have ever made and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mmillet15
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
So easy and delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These pickles defy logic. You cook 'em til they're floppy, and somehow they come out crispy crunchy and so delicious! What a find this recipe was for me just as my garden's produced more cukes than I knew what to do with. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Kosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
So easy and delicious! I, too, used half the amount of sugar, and they were plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
These are the best Bread and Butter Pickles!!!! Love, love, love them! I just got done making them and they're almost gone. I couldn't even wait until they cooled down to eat them. I'm so glad I planted all those cucumbers this year. My friends, neighbors and family will be getting these pickles. That's if I don't eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have made bread and butter pickles for several years. I have used a recipe that was very involved and the pickles were good. This recipe is great because it does not take long to prepare the pickles turn out great! I did cut the sugar in half but followed the rest of the recipe to a T. This is going to be my new pickle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Wonderful and so easy to make. The longer in the refrig the better they get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States