Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent! Cut back on the sugar by 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Great recipe....I also decreased the sugar. I added the turmeric to the bottle, so it wouldn't discolor the white lining of my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Love, love, love these pickles. All we did was cut the amount of sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe, however it is posted with one mistake. The recipe I have calls for 3 cucumbers. I thought the amount of sugar was too high when I first tried the recipe I have and wow not enough fluid, but when you microwave the cukes the natural moisture comes out of them almost like adding water to the batch. This is why people only using 1 cucumber are saying its too sweet. You will have more than enough fluid to put in the jars. Make this simple change and you will think these are the best Bread and Butter Pickles ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I love, love these...have made them at least five times...My family gobbles them up...the only thing I do differently is I put them in sterilized jars and a hot water bath for ten minutes so they will keep longer...Just put a jar in the refrigerator as you need it....YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
crisp and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Edward, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
These were very easy and tasty . Following the advice of others cut the sugar in half but after experimenting 2/3 cup is seems perfect. Great Recipe and Fast !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I haven't allowed these to stand in the refrigerator long enough for the flavors to develop, but I already like them. I was skeptical that the heat of the microwave, or rather the way the microwave heats somewhat unevenly, would make for a limp pickle. I've canned pickles for years, but with the family shrinking, I thought I'd try this recipe. I did double it, since I had several pickling cucumbers to use up, and they already impress me with good flavor and crispness. I usually use cider vinegar in bread and butter pickles, but used white as the recipe stated. I did use some mixed pickling spice instead of the mustard seed simply to use it up. The whole batch is in a large glass jar in the refrigerator, and will surely not last long. This is a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe and method. Additional note: After keeping some for a few months in the fridge, I can say that these only improved with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Best way to make bread and butter pickles. I backed off the sugar by a 1/3 of a cup. Thanks D. Ray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Super easy recipe! Absolutely delicious. So good I just fix me a small bowl of them for a little snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States