Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Based on the wonderful reviews and some suggestions I cut the sugar in half and am sitting here enjoying some WONDERFUL and quick to make Bread & Butter pickles! I used 3 Kirby cucumbers instead of one large one and the recipe worked out perfectly! Thanks so much! UPDATE: I now routinely prepare a doubled batch and add a thinly sliced (I use an adjustable Kyocera ceramic mandoline) jalapeno to that doubled batch. I only need to microwave this amount for a total of 9 minutes, though. Wherever I bring a jar of these homemade pickles I have to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
These pickles are to die for. I found this recipe 2 weeks ago and have made 4 batches since. We can't keep them around. I add a little ground pepper to the mix but it is good either way. I tried to use the juice a second time and the pickles still turned out but not near as good as the first batch. Thanx so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This is a wonderful and easy recipe! I scaled the recipe to 5 cucumbers so I did microwave them a little longer. They are very addicting once you start eating them - I made them this morning and they are half gone tonight! Thank you for making my first attempt at pickles terrific!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Nice flavor. They turned out quite soggy though, maybe because I used long english cukes or cut too thin, but tasty enough to try making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
extremely good and very easy! I made as instructed and added some garlic. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Unbelievably good! A very quick and easy recipe. I was impressed by the cucumber slices keeping a slight crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I made this recipe and my whole family loved it. It made my husband think I used his grandmothers recipe that takes days to make. It was quick, easy and I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I must say that no one believed that these came from a microwave, and about 12 different people have tried them after I made them. They are awesome, taste just like homemade (the old-fashioned way) and were beyond simple. I will definately make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
These were great and so easy. My Mom said these were the best pickles she ever ate in her life. I've already made them a second time. I'll never buy bread and butter pickles again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
These are very good and super easy to fix. Also threw in some red pepper flakes and used an English cucumber so there are hardly any seeds. I cut the cucumber in 1/4 in. slices. Still sweet enough for us using half the amount of sugar but don't leave out any of the spices. FYI - the tumeric will turn the onion (used 1/2 of a Texas Sweet) a funny yellow color but these are so yummy, Mom even asked if she could take some home! Thank you Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States