Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I love these pickles, especially the ease of making them! I make one cucumber at a time. I leave the onions out. The only bad thing is they are not crisp, but then again who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HINKBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cottonport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I don't like pickles, so I made this one for my husband. He bit into a pickle and his whole face screwed up. He said ,"Sorry, babe, it's not good." So, there you have it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These turned out great! Following others' advice, I only used 1/2 cup of sugar (which was plenty), and I added 1 clove of fresh garlic (minced) and 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes. Microwaved for 8 minutes, and they taste fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
These are exceptional and very easy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I love pickles, but never made them before. This recipe was easy and allows for variation ... I used cloves and added whole peppercorns. I also halved the sugar which still had them plenty sweet!! I used the English cucumbers and either these cukes are not for pickling, or else I microwaved them too long. They were not as crispy as I would like, but I will definitely used this recipie again with "normal" cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Very easy recipe, though I will use less celery seed next time. The kids really loved them and they were gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I have made many versions of bread and butter sweet pickles, but never found one that was easier and more delicious. I used to teach microwave cooking in the 80's and wish I had had this recipe to show off another way to use your microwave oven! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
These pickles are absolutely delicious and easy. I only used 2/3 cup sugar for a little less sweetness. In a couple batches I added a variety of peppers from my garden. Great recipe! One more thing, it says 1 cucumber and I used about 5 pickle size cucs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe - easy to make and quite tasty. The only thing I didn't like was that after a couple of days marinating the sweetness really intensifies, overwhelming all the other flavors. Next time I'll try with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Revised review: Too sweet, this really needs either more vinegar, and/or less sugar. Original review: "Pretty good! A "fast-fix" when my Mother's, locally famous standard recipe, Bread & Butter Pickles are not available. In this recipe I most often omit the celery seed and add 1/2 teaspoon whole cloves instead."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States