Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Revised review: Too sweet, this really needs either more vinegar, and/or less sugar. Original review: "Pretty good! A "fast-fix" when my Mother's, locally famous standard recipe, Bread & Butter Pickles are not available. In this recipe I most often omit the celery seed and add 1/2 teaspoon whole cloves instead."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Wow! This is a great recipe! I made a batch last night and the second batch today. My kids love them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beppu, Oita, Japan
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Yum Yum Yum! This was my 1st attempt making pickles- who knew it was this easy! These were incredible, I can't believe pickles this good can be made in less than 10 minutes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
These were just okay- we didn't even end up finishing them. I think I may have tried following too many of the suggestions. Next time, I'll stick to the original recipe except I don't really like the taste of the celery seed and do I really need the turmeric? I don't like the color of the pickles with the turmeric added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
These were so easy to make and good tasting. My son loves bread & butter pickles and he gave these a 10+. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
We have never made pickles before and this was the easiest and most delious bread and butter pickles that we could ever imagine. They taste like mom used to make! I was giving the receipe to a friend and they don't have any jars, do you suppose you could just use a tight fitting rubbermaid bowl or something like that. We will be making these again and there is no need to buy Bread and Butter Pickles in the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
I live in Japan and have a hard time getting American style pickles. This recipe is wonderful. I grated cucumbers, squeezed out the liquid and made relish with the leftover liquid - cooking only 5 minutes in the micro. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This pickles were so easy asn VERY tasty!! I used half the sugar the recipe called for and my 5 year old ate them as a side dish! I WILL make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
WEll, pickles used to freak me out (I'm 14), but I had some homegrown Asian cucumbers given to me by a friend so I used one up this way. I had to peel them because Asian cukes' skins are spiky, but they were actually really good! I will be making pickles again in the future, and that's high praise 4 me! My mom loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This recipe was so easy! turned out great. I added a little garlic like the others but also added some zucchini strips and some diced red pepper. *Update* I am trying to cut back on sugars and have used splenda/nutrisweet in place of the sugar. GREAT!! Have been making them like this a few years and no one can tell the difference. ZERO weight watchers points like this by the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States