Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I've been making these pickles (year round) for a long time. They are a great taste of summer in the heart of the winter! My recipe is only a little bit different in that I use 3 cucumbers to your one. I love the addition of peppers also. I've tried to do a whole jar of onions, but they really need the taste of the pickles to be good. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
another girl had us taste this recipe her friend adored, & now everyone wants her to make them, OR, pass on the recipe. Usually, I love kosher dills, but these are delicious! (MAW)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Narberth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I've made this several times since I found it here. It comes out tasting great! I usually cut down a bit on sugar and use 4-5 cuccumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shabbos Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
These were excellent, particularly given how quick and easy they were to make! Perhaps not as crispy as store-bought versions, but the taste more than makes up for it! (I used half the sugar based on the many suggestions, and it was fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMURFGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Wow, I never thought that I'll ever use my microwave for cooking such delicious dish! It was easy, fast and most important - tasty! My in-laws, my children and husband absolutely loved it. I made some changes, such as: reduced the quantity of sugar to 1/3 cup and in my microwave (whirlpool) it took 6 1/2 minutes to be done. I'll stick to this as a basic recipe for B&B pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These were the BEST! They were just like eating my grandmothers. I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup to allow me to eat more at one sitting. Terrific for holiday gifting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
These are the easiest pickles, my grandmother would be jealous and they taste really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Absolutely Yummy! These pickles are super simple to make, and taste even better than anything sold in a store. It's perfect for a single person, or a small family. I had pickles in the fridge form start to finish in less than 20 minutes. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
My daughter made these from the cucumbers in our garden. They are really delicious and easy to make. Though they're not crispy or crunchy, they are a great way to use up that produce. Oh, by the way, we substituted Splenda for the sugar to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I love these pickles, especially the ease of making them! I make one cucumber at a time. I leave the onions out. The only bad thing is they are not crisp, but then again who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HINKBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cottonport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States