Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
First pickle I ever made and I was pretty impressed with myself. I added a little bit of dill seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
OK, thought the idea of microwaving cucumbers to turn into pickles was a bit wierd, but Yum!!! Very easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren11
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
It's amazing how this quick recipe tastes just like Grandma's homemade bread and butter pickles that once took days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was a great recipe. And a great concept. I have an organic garden and we seem to harvest a little every day. This recipe is fast and the cucumbers, bell peppers, onions still have a good crunch to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I have made these pickles for friends and everyone says they are "better than grammas." Delicious, easy, and a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suttons Bay, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
YUM YUM YUM!!! These delicious pickles are SO easy to make and taste AMAZING! I went out and bought a palette of jars just so I can make some to share. I add an extra cucumber to the recipe and use a medium Vidalia onion and the quantity fits perfectly in a quart-sized jar. Putting the sealed jar in the fridge while it's hot ensures the lid will pop in for proper canning. Slicing slightly thicker cucumber slices will leave them with a nice crunch. Beware that making the pickles in a white plastic bowl may turn it yellowish green, so now I have a designated pickle bowl! :) Thanks for the awesome recipe, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I used the wrong cucumbers but it was great still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Pickles are too sweet for our taste. Next time try... NO sugar? Changes: No mustard seeds 1/2 tsp celery seed added whole peppers (need to be microwaved longer) added sundried tomato slices (bad idea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
this are very good I've been making them for years. Funny though I found the recipe in a woman's magazine. However, I can't remember which one. It was either woman's day or family circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I used this recipe trying to copy some delicious home made pickles I had tasted while on holiday. I did change it a little because I like chunky pickles, so I cut the small pickling cucumbers about 1/2 inch thick. I also added freshed minced garlic and a couple hot chili peppers. They turned out great, not the exact dupe but still really good. I will definately keep this recipe for future use. BTW I tripled the recipe for a large jar and they still came out perfectly. My whole family liked them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States