Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I cut down the sugar to 1/4 cup as I dont like my pickles too sweet and that worked well for me. I wasn't sure if the cucumber would go limp what with it boiling for so long but it was Great! I couldnt wait to taste this and I loved the flavour! This recipe is awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
OK - yum!!!!! But I do love bread and butter pickles! I followed this recipe to a T (didn't decrease the sugar at all). I'm a Southerner at heart and love the sweetness. They were quick and easy although I did try doubling and tripling which caused me to have to microwave them a bit longer. I tried making them with and without garlic and didn't notice a big difference but didn't add that much garlic. I also tried totally peeling the cukes as I felt the skins were a bit tough but they just didn't look the same. After filling the hot jars, I stuck them in a boiling water bath for about 10 minutes and they sealed immediately so I can enjoy throughout the winter. I used regular cukes (not English) and sweet Vidalia onions. IN fact, I may have added a bit more onion than called for. Next time I may add a bit of sweet red pepper for color. I gave some to my friend and she said her mom CRIED when she ate them as they reminded her of the pickles she helped her Mom make when she was a kid. That's a true testimony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Very easy, very good. However, I am not one for "refrigerator pickles". I made enough at one time, using proportionate amounts, to make 5 large jars (I use the mason jars that come with Classico and other pasta sauces) at a time. I cook them right in the jars, filling with only 1/2 jar of liquid to avoid boilover, then top off with the remaining pickling liquid I've kept simmering on the stove. Leave 1/2" head space and cap immediately. Voila! CANNED B & B pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Buxton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
If I could give this six stars, I would. My husband and I have never craved pickles like this before. They're just wonderful and flavorful and so easy. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
YUMMY!! followed the recipe exact and turned out great next time I'm going try adding jalapeno's and habanero's to make a spicy version..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe. I helps us use up all the cukes we have in the garden. It had a good taste and was crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I tried this using 2 cucumbers, 2/3 cup sugar and a few whole cloves in addition to the spices already called for. After heating in the microwave for the recommended 8 minutes, I kept heating in increments of 3 minutes until the onions turned translucent. Total heating time for this batch was 14 minutes. This made 2 pints. I put them in the fridge last night and just got out a jar this afternoon. They're fabulous! Nice and crunchy. But with time they may get a little sweeter, so next time (SOON!) I'll probably try using just 1/2 cup sugar. I didn't have any pepper flakes, but I'll be trying that soon, too. I put the jars into the fridge as soon as I filled them, and they sealed nicely. Does this mean I can store them unrefrigerated after they're sealed? I don't have enough refrigerator space for the quantities I'd like to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlet, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cross Lanes, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These pickles were fast and tasted great after marinating in the fridge for a few days. However be careful because microwaves tend to create hot spots and may unevenly overcook some of the cukes. Either stop to stir frequently, or heat the liquid up first and add the cukes later. It didnt seem to affect the taste after marinating for a few days, but I wonder if it would affect the quality. Thanks for posting it though! P.S I also love that its a recipe for one or two cukes. Most of the recipes out there are for a whole barrel of them, making it hard to accurately scale down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
WOW!! Pickles that fast...and from a microwave, no less! I took the suggestion of a previous reviewer and placed jarred pickles while hot in the refrigerator and they sealed on their own! Cool! Very good and right on the money for a delicious bread & butter pickle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious!!!!!! I would recommend cutting the cucumber slices thinner (not too thin) versus thicker. I also recommend letting the pickles chill out in the freezer for a few days before sampling. They are so wonderful - you'll be impressed that you made them in the microwave! My grandmother who works so hard each year to can her on pickles the old fashioned way will never believe me when I share this with her! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States