Microwave Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It has been my experience that microwaving a potato on high for a long period of time creates hard spots that are over-cooked. I like to set my microwave to cycle in two stages. The first stage is high for 2 to 4 minutes depending on the size of the potato, then set the oven to half power for a remaining 3 to five minutes (again depending on the size of the potato). Then I wrap them in a clean dish towel to continue cooking and to stay warm until the meat is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This worked very well for me and I will definitely be doing this again in the future. However, I burnt my fingers on removing the plate from the microwave so I suggest wearing oven mitts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
If you bought a Microwave, you received a book telling you how to make a baked potato in your particular model... the toppings are purely personal taste. And 10 minutes? WHAT? Your potato better be the size of a small football or you'll nuke it to a crisp. It's recipes like this, and how to make a peanut butter sandwich (on this site) that really make me wonder about the mentality of some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My husband has always done this since I've known him. His trick for steaming it is to wrap potatoes (a few together if they are small) in a paper towel and then run the package under running water (passes through it quickly a couple of times to get a damp paper towel) then puts it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Really? Is this what this site has come to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I've been microwaving our baked potatoes for years. It's quick, easy & the potatoes taste the same. For those who are having problems with overcooked or undercooked potatoes I can only suggest testing from time to time. I give medium sized potatoes 6 minutes in my 1,100 watt microwave, squeeze them with my fingertips to test for softness & if they're not done I give them another couple of minutes & test again. When they're almost done I let them sit in the microwave for a bit as they will continue to cook a little from their own heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Been doing this for years too. Add to it though, when I do do it I usually toss in an extra tater for next day breakfast hash browns. In my micro 5-6 minutes works pretty good for 2 medium to large taters flipping em over bout 1/2 way through. I found that chopping up a baked tater in the fridge over night less painful that trying to hack up a fresh hot one. Then just brown em up. I can never get my hash browns done right just hackin n fryin raw taters. Sorry if I got off main topic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I like to coat my potatos with olive oil and sea salt like I would if I were baking in the oven. I place them in a covered casserole dish to cook in the microwave. I think they cook faster and taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Why does anyone need instructions on how to bake a potato in a microwave? The microwave has instructions on it for baking a potato and commonsense handles the rest. This very sad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Best way when Microwaving is to poke the potatoes with a fork deep and then wrap in a paper towel, run the whole thing under the facet soaking wet and place on plate then into microwave. It steams the potatoes an keep them from getting hard and dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States