Microwave Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Easiest way to have a baked spud. I have two tips to add: First, I place the potatos in a paper bag when I cook them. It seems to help with the steaming. Second, after cooking but before slicing the potatos, I wrap them in a towel and gently roll them on a cutting board, (just like you would to loosen the juice in a lemon.) This makes it much easier to fluff the potato with butter and other toppings before the last round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was great! One tip - if you want your potatoes to come out extra "steamy" and have problems with your potatoes drying out, try wrapping the potatoes in plastic wrap before microwaving. The skin doesn't dry out and get crisp, but the inner part comes out the way it does in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1668 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Yeah...I cooked the botato for the ten minutes time in the microwave and it got set on fire...Cut the cooking time in half if you have a new microwave...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
if you prefer the crispiness of an oven baked potato, use the microwave until the potato is partially baked and then use the oven to finish. You can still save quite a bit of time this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
462 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
great quick recipe! works perfectly. To prevent potato flame, just add a bit of water in the bottom of your plate/bowl. the pepper really adds to the taste of the potato. Thanks for the time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Yea! *applause* Excellent recipe! Remember that the size of the potato and the wattage of the microwave may vary cooking times. This is a great recipe, especially for those just starting to cook. You can change up the toppings to your liking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
It tastes just as good when baked in the microwave as in the oven and it's a LOT faster. I fix the little red potatoes that I've quartered in the microwave also. It only takes about five minutes to fix a serving for one. Just add butter and in five minutes you have baked potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
We usually make our baked potatoes like this in the microwave. Saves so much time and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
One of the simplest and best things to make in a microwave. Big timesaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is good in a time crunch - I use the Perfect Baked Potato recipe from this site for the oven style (brush olive oil after pricking and sprinkle with salt) so I do this step for the microwave too. For those of you who are following that tip to wrap in plastic wrap - beware, chemicals from the plastic wrap will leach into your potato if you do this. I would only use those plastic bags that are designed for the microwave otherwise you are putting your health at risk. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States