Microwave Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Excellent. You need to use a firm apple for this - I prefer Fuji. I cut up the apple into sections, sprinkle it with cinnamon and splenda only (no butter or sugar) and microwave 5-6 minutes until soft. It's super low-cal and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a delicious and easy recipe as long as you prepare the apples properly. I can't imagine this would be good at all with sliced apples. The point of the recipe is to have the apple standing and to cook the spices inside it, with the butter bubbling them out over the edges. Use Granny Smith apples and if you don't have a corer, use a paring knife and cut a wide mouth, angling it toward the center of the apple. I accidentally sliced all the way through one of the apples and all the good stuff oozed right out of it, which is why I wouldn't recommend slicing the apples. This was an excellent compliment to my pork chops dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wow! This was a great recipe for a really nice low-fat snack. It was quick, easy and delicious. I cut the recipe in half and used a large Granny Smith apple. I also cut the amount of nutmeg in half, I love nutmeg but it can overpower the cinnamon. I also used Land O Lakes light butter and boy was this good topped with a bit of fat free Cool Whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Good--make sure you use an apple that holds up to cooking, and start with a shorter microwave time, esp. if not using large apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
Great! Just as good as oven-baked apples, and much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
this recipe got my 10 mo. old picky baby to start eating apple! plus i thought it was soooooo yummy!!! and sooooooo quick and easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I took others advice and used a granny smith apple for this. I made it at the local nursing home for 'cooking class'. They all loved the taste and the ease that the apples were made. We were amazed to see the ingredients inside the apple bubbling out of the apple. Next time, though, I think I will slice the apples... I think the apple would cook uniformly. Pieces of the whole apple weren't done and I had to cook again. Overall a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Gross - microwaving the apple made it mushy & inedible. Threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Yum! Simple & quick dessert. Had it with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Made 2 apples last night with cored whole apples, threw in some sun-ripen raisins along with cinnamon & sugar mixture, but left out nutmeg (coz not a fan)! So, juices oozed out from the apples upon cooked but nevertheless, it was still a delish! The next time around, I will probably slice the apples to try a different feel. It was so extremely easy and fun to “bake” these wonder apples with a microwave indeed! Thank you Nicole for this wonderful recipe...*UPDATES* Made this again using 3 Royal Galas last nite using sliced apples layed with cinnamon, brown sugar & raisin mixture on each layer and microwaved it for 4 full minutes and let it sit for 2 minutes in the microwave. Apples turned out wonderfully delicious, sweet and evenly "baked" within the heavily-spiced up sauce. It's now a 5-star from me and hubby, no question about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States