Microwave Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Excellent. You need to use a firm apple for this - I prefer Fuji. I cut up the apple into sections, sprinkle it with cinnamon and splenda only (no butter or sugar) and microwave 5-6 minutes until soft. It's super low-cal and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This was just perfect! very versatile. I am starting my New Years diet and I think this will just be perfect for those sweet snack attacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Surprisingly delicious taste do not blend in microwave so you can taste the individual ones and very good and so quick for a last minute thought for a snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAMAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Very Quick way to pull fruit into our wintertime dinner! I omitted the nutmeg. The Galas I had on hand worked well for a very tasty, perfectly complimentary and satisfing side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a delicious and easy recipe as long as you prepare the apples properly. I can't imagine this would be good at all with sliced apples. The point of the recipe is to have the apple standing and to cook the spices inside it, with the butter bubbling them out over the edges. Use Granny Smith apples and if you don't have a corer, use a paring knife and cut a wide mouth, angling it toward the center of the apple. I accidentally sliced all the way through one of the apples and all the good stuff oozed right out of it, which is why I wouldn't recommend slicing the apples. This was an excellent compliment to my pork chops dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
No thanks. Wouldn't make again. Idea was appealing because I wanted something sweet and easy. It was pretty easy, but most of the sweet stuff just ran out in the pan. I used it as a sauce and it was OK. I'm sure results vary based on quality of apples -- and presence on ice cream (everything is better with ice cream, right). I added a few walnuts to this to make it a little more interesting, but overall texture was blah and taste was, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yum, yum! I sliced my apple and added some oatmeal and almonds during the last 30 seconds of microwaving. Nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
These are very yummy! And fast to bake in the microwave. They could definitely be done in the oven or even on the grill or campfire. They would also be good with mint, sweet potatoes, and nuts as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
The nutmeg was a little overpowering, I would cut it back or eliminate it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall River, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I took others advice and used a granny smith apple for this. I made it at the local nursing home for 'cooking class'. They all loved the taste and the ease that the apples were made. We were amazed to see the ingredients inside the apple bubbling out of the apple. Next time, though, I think I will slice the apples... I think the apple would cook uniformly. Pieces of the whole apple weren't done and I had to cook again. Overall a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States