Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
If people are saying this is by far the best recipe...then why change how it's suppose to be made! No need to add or take away anything from this recipe, it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These have become our Christmas cookie favorite. Perfect cookie to decorate and so very tasty! No need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The dough consistency was really soft, even after it was chilled in the freezer. The cookie was really soft and slightly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I was very disappointed in this recipe. Even after overnight refrigeration, the cut-outs would not hold their shape even for me to place them on the pan. The few that did survive the cut-out process expanded too much in the oven. I had to use a cookie scoop on the remainder of the dough. The finished cookies tasted like something between biscuits and breakfast cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dinga
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have been using this recipe for at least 10 years. It is the perfect soft cut out cookie recipe. I have used it for birthday party's, baby showers, volley ball game snacks, Christmas etc. This recipe has never ever ever failed me. I roll the cookies out on parchment paper with dowel rods on each side to make the dough height consistent on each side, then I take the excess dough away and move the parchment paper to a baking sheet. (I pre-cut parchment paper to fit baking sheet & then tape dowel rod ends to counter just short the width of the rolling pin) I never have to move the cutout after rolling it out. I put a lollipop stick in it and bake. Turns out perfect. The cookies stay so soft. They taste perfect and are not too sweet so that it helps balance out against the frosting and sprinkles. The cookie does not stay flat. It puffs up a little which I prefer because it is light and fluffy yet firm enough to be eaten on a lollipop stick vs being hard and stiff. If you are putting them on a lollipop sticks make sure you buy dowell rods that are slightly thicker than the lollipop sticks, when inserting them turn the stick back and forth while putting your finger on top of the cookie so the stick does not come through the top. I highly recommend this recipe. I will never use another :) Thank you Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Best sugar cookies I have ever made, but what a process! I lose interest about halfway through, and never end up refrigerating the dough for as long as the recipe recommends. Still, if you have the patience, these are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
These cookies were incredible! I've tried many recipes on here, but, for some reason, the baked goods are always hit or miss. Not these! They were so easy to make, and they came out soft, tasty and just amazing. Everyone loved them. My elderly neighbor even asked for the recipe. The only thing I did differently was to use butter (unsalted) instead of margarine. I don't really like margarine and didn't have any on hand. Marvelous! Oh and I didn' thave any cream of tartar so I just used more baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe. I bake a lot and had no trouble with these cookies at all. I did substitute butter for the margarine (just personal preference). I made the dough in the evening and baked them the following morning. I was worried the dough might be very stiff after being chilled 6 hours, but it was great to work with. I doubled the recipe and used a 4'" heart shaped cookie cutter. I ended up with 47 cookies. They are very soft and the taste is great. I will be using this recipe often. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I tried this for the first time yesterday and it came out great! But I made a few changes. First I took out the cream of tarter ( but DID NOT ADD MORE BAKING SODA TO COMPENSATE) it will taste too much like baking soda if you do! I also added 1 tsp of butter extract in addition to the 1 tsp of vanilla. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *BonBon*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I love this recipe, not super sweet yet still tastes like a cookie. I made it with butter and baking powder like the other comments. I left it in the fridge for two days and still tasted good. The dough gets really soft quickly, so work fast. I found the best method was to freeze the dough in flattened logs, spray the cookie cutter with nonstick cooking spray then dip the cutter in powdered sugar. I put powdered sugar on waxed paper and on top of the dough. Rolled it out under another piece of waxed paper. I also put my rolling pin in the freezer. Baked at 350 for 11 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States