Michelle's Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was pretty good and very moist, but lacked the intensity of flavor we normally perfer. I cooked it covered for 30 mins and uncovered for 30 mins and still needed more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was really good. I used a cut up chicken and marinaded for 5 hours. The only change that I made was to add 1 tablespoon of brown sugar to the marinade. I think it would be even better if I had time to marinade overnight. My family loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and liked this very much. The sauce gives an Asian type of oniony flavor that is really different and savory. The whole house smelled fantastic while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Overall really good. I didn't marinate long enough so I didn't get the full flavour. Although there was enough left over for the next day, so I broke the chicken into pieces added some veggies poured the remaining stock over all. I baked that in the oven for 40 min and wow yum! I served it over the left over rice from the first meal...even better than day one. I will increase all spices next time. Thank-you Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Ginger adds a nice kick to the recipe & I loved how the chicken wasn't too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. I used 1 teaspoon of the chile sauce instead of 1 tablespoon thinking it would add too much heat. I liked the results but I could have probably used the full tablespoon. I did have to add water (chicken broth would work) to the pan while roasting otherwise the sauce would have burned. I then strained the sauce added a cornstarch mixture and thickened it to serve with the chicken and some jasmine rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I didn't change much with this recipe, except omit the chili powder and chili sauce. My kids don't tolerate hot in their food. I did marinate it overnight, which I believe was what made it taste so good. I had to cook it for longer than specified, as I did have a little bigger chicken. Really, really tasty. I paired it with a cold sesame noodle recipe I also got from this site. Super moist and really flavorful. I saved the juice from this chicken as well as the remaining meat to use in a fried rice recipe later this week. My husband was impressed. Way to go, Michelle! You rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe. Made it tonight for supper, it is really moist, but needs a little bit more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Thank you Michelle! I normally change a few things with most recipes but not this one. My husband asks for this at least twice a month and it's so easy I'm always happy to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This is the best chicken recipe ever! I substituted the chiles (both sauce and spice) with a little bit of cayenne pepper. And I put chicken broth instead of oyster sauce (I put allot of concentrate for the broth to make it dark and tasty!). Just alone the chicken makes me think a little of sish taouk chicken! It's that good! I just prepared 3 chicken breasts and me and my family can't wait until tomorrow to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States