Michelle's Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
The marinade for this chicken was awesome! It smelled so good I could hardly wait for the chicken to get done. It didn't cook like the recipe says. I had to turn the oven down after the first half hour and cook it longer because the chicken was getting very brown. I will definitely use this recipe again. I will probably use the marinade for other meats and cook them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This recipe was really great! I used a 7 lb. chicken and marinated it for 5 hours which wasn't long enough. The flavor was there only mild. I also had to turn down the oven. My chicken looked burnt, even though it was only the onions on top which carmelized. I'll definitely try this recipe again and marinate it overnight. I'll also just bake it the usual way. By the way, the kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This fragrant dish, redolent with garlic and ginger was certainly scaled down to "American" tastes. I prepared it verbatum but I will make the following adjustments next time: more fresh ginger (perhaps 1/2 squeezed for the juice)no chili powder but the addition of hot red pepper flakes (we like our food stompin')I cut up the chicked to permeat the meat more thoroughly. A bit of asian red vinegar seems a fair addition too. As is, this is a fine dish for the average palate. Zipping it up with additional vavoom is our option! Thanks Michelle. This was a terrific recipe with a complex and satisfying pan sauce for the addition to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I tried this recipe several times.the chicken i used was soaked in a salt brine for 24 hours because i wanted a crispy golden brown finish on the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I'm sorry Michelle but this recipe did not work for me. My chicken was a little bigger, 5 pounds instead of 4 so I allotted an extra 20 minutes onto the cooking time and prepared the rest of the dinner, set the table etc. At the end of the time the chicken nice and brown (A little too brown) on the outside but the inside was still not cooked...so I threw it into the microwave and could tell that wasn't going to work either, so now it is late and I had to put everything away while I put the chicken in at a lower temperature. I'm a little dissapointed I guess, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
The chicken turned out well. The brown color of the marinade made the chicken a nice brown color. I added a few things to the sauce like sesame oil, cilantro, pepper flakes and chunks of carrot and celery. The end product did not seem to taste Asian to me. It tasted more like a version of Grandma's chicken. Very good, but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This is the best chicken recipe ever! I substituted the chiles (both sauce and spice) with a little bit of cayenne pepper. And I put chicken broth instead of oyster sauce (I put allot of concentrate for the broth to make it dark and tasty!). Just alone the chicken makes me think a little of sish taouk chicken! It's that good! I just prepared 3 chicken breasts and me and my family can't wait until tomorrow to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Thank you Michelle! I normally change a few things with most recipes but not this one. My husband asks for this at least twice a month and it's so easy I'm always happy to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe. Made it tonight for supper, it is really moist, but needs a little bit more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I didn't change much with this recipe, except omit the chili powder and chili sauce. My kids don't tolerate hot in their food. I did marinate it overnight, which I believe was what made it taste so good. I had to cook it for longer than specified, as I did have a little bigger chicken. Really, really tasty. I paired it with a cold sesame noodle recipe I also got from this site. Super moist and really flavorful. I saved the juice from this chicken as well as the remaining meat to use in a fried rice recipe later this week. My husband was impressed. Way to go, Michelle! You rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States