Michelle's Peanut Butter Marbled Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I'll give this 5 stars only after the modifications I made. Without them, I would say it's a 4 star...barely. First of all, save yourself time and don't put aside a cup of the chocolate batter. My brownies were prettier and had more of a marbled look after I spread the pb than it did after adding the cup of chocolate. The chocolate pretty much covered the pb completely. Also, these needed frosting in my opinion. I used the following recipe for frosting, and this made this a 5 star recipe! I got this from Blondies on this website: 1/4 cup butter softened 1/2 cup peanut butter 1.5 cups powdered sugar 1/4 cup milk To make the frosting, mix the remaining 1/2 cup of butter and 1 cup peanut butter together in a medium bowl. Mix in the confectioners sugar until smooth, then gradually stir in milk until a spreadable consistency is reached. Serve frosted brownies warm with ice cream. NOW you're talking 5-star!!:-) I made these a 2nd time without frosting and they tasted better this time. I didn't put the cup of chocolate on top, and they turned out pretty...I put a couple of spoonfuls of chocolate batter on top, not the whole cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I just used a box of brownie mix and swirled the PB on top. They came out fudgy and delicious. if you love peanut buttery goodness, this recipes is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These were WAY too greasy, and 1 c. of melted margarine was too much. The brownies were literally oozing with grease. I plan to try them again with less margarine. The brownies would've been rated tops, if not for the problem with the amount of margarine. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
These are delicious. Took about an hour in the oven to set, though. Also, I had trouble with the "swirling" - I couldn't get the layers to swirl together because I didn't drop chocolate onto the top so it wasn't quite as pretty as I'd hoped. That said, the two layers taste great together. I used 8 oz. cream cheese (instead of 6) and had no problems. These brownies taste like 80% chocolate and 20% peanut butter cheesecake, in case you're curious about the taste. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
REALLY good brownies. I used 1 cup of peanut butter. Also put in an additional 1/4 cup of flour and cut back the butter by 1/4 stick. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I must admit that when these first came out of the oven and even after they had cooled for about an hour I was not impressed-I am a die-hard brownie fan too. About 5 hours later when I thought I would try another bite my opinion totally changed, these are great. I think that letting them cool for a while lets them become a bit fudgier and sweeter-they are really good-trust me, I just had one for breakfast. (Sidenote: brownies are a great way to start the day.) These are quick to put together and as far as presentation they look great. Try them out, this is a wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing it Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
These are incredible brownies! I used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese for the peanut butter layer, and it worked very well. I also skipped the chocolate chips...in my opinion, they would have made marbling much more difficult, they were unnecessary (the brownies were VERY chocolatey without them) and added extra unnecessary calories :) Those are the only changes I made to the recipe itself. I did make some changes to the assembly of the brownies, though. Instead of saving 1 cup of batter, I saved about 1/3 cup. It was way to thick to marble with, so I added a little milk until it was more like regular brownie batter. I spread the rest of the batter into a foil-lined pan (I use Reynold's Release foil...it works SO well for brownies!) and then spread the peanut butter filling on top. I then placed spoonfuls of reserved batter on top of the peanut butter, making neat rows. I used a clean knife to marble them together, but was careful not to marble so much that the overall look was muddied. I baked it for about 30 minutes or so...until a toothpick inserted halfway to the center came out clean. As written, the brownies would be overbaked and dry. After they cooled in the pan, I lifted the brownies out of the pan using the foil lining, making cutting much easier. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe...these were a big hit! I'll be making these brownies again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Daisybell
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
These brownies were yummmy and GONE in my office!! This was my first time making brownies from scratch and they were very easy. Even I got the marbled effect going very well, using 3/4 cup of set side chocolate batter. Also, they had just a hint of peanut butter which I think made it fantastic for everyone but for a group that loves peanut butter, I would add more. And like everyone else said, it tasted WAY better the day after and I didn't chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This recipe rocks! As-is, no subsitutions of modifications required! Cut them small, because they are rich, moist, chewy- and will go FAST! I think that ALLY99 possibly ran into technical difficulties the first time around because these surely DO NOT require frosting!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
These brownies were delicious! I took these to a party and they were gone within two hours. I accidently used one 8 oz. pkg. of cream cheese, so I added a little more peanut butter and sugar and they turned out just fine. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States