Michelle's Peanut Butter Marbled Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
These are incredible brownies! I used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese for the peanut butter layer, and it worked very well. I also skipped the chocolate chips...in my opinion, they would have made marbling much more difficult, they were unnecessary (the brownies were VERY chocolatey without them) and added extra unnecessary calories :) Those are the only changes I made to the recipe itself. I did make some changes to the assembly of the brownies, though. Instead of saving 1 cup of batter, I saved about 1/3 cup. It was way to thick to marble with, so I added a little milk until it was more like regular brownie batter. I spread the rest of the batter into a foil-lined pan (I use Reynold's Release foil...it works SO well for brownies!) and then spread the peanut butter filling on top. I then placed spoonfuls of reserved batter on top of the peanut butter, making neat rows. I used a clean knife to marble them together, but was careful not to marble so much that the overall look was muddied. I baked it for about 30 minutes or so...until a toothpick inserted halfway to the center came out clean. As written, the brownies would be overbaked and dry. After they cooled in the pan, I lifted the brownies out of the pan using the foil lining, making cutting much easier. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe...these were a big hit! I'll be making these brownies again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
To start with, the brownie batter was very nice, easy to work with, as was the peanut butter/cream cheese mixture; however mixing the two nicely was a little more difficult than I anticipated. After making the brownies and allowing them to cool fully, I found the brownie itself to be very nice, but the peanut butter mixture was laking in the peanut butter for my taste. I found it more like a cheese cake brownie. I am giving it three stars, because the brownie was quite nice and I may make it again, but instead I will just use plain peanut butter. So three stars because I will be altering it. But thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Spectacular combination of chocolate and peanut butter! Fat overload but so worth it, oh my! I made a couple small changes: used an 8-oz brick of cream cheese and increased the peanut butter to about a cup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali Peacock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I gave them a 4 star because although I thought they were delicious, I think they could be more peanut buttery. Therefore next time will try more peanut butter and peanut butter chips instead of chocolate chips. But all in all so moist and everyone I got to try them thought they were fabulous. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious! I only had to modify it slightly to fit into the Perfect Brownie pan, which is smaller than 9 x 13", meaning I reduced the flour and sugar ratio by one quarter, if that makes sense. Didn't want to overflow the Perfect Brownie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good but quite heavy. The dough was so stiff I did have trouble marbleing. Sometimes I do add peanut butter chips to my brownies, and that requires a lot less effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I thought this was yummy, but not what I was expecting from the reviews:( I thought the cream cheese/peanut butter texture didn't go well with the brownie at all. But the taste was nice. .......I followed the recipe exactly besides adding a bit more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Fantastically rich and delicious. The peanut butter/cream cheese combination is great. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
these were so soft and not over peanutty great combo wonderful texture will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States