Michelle's Famous Washed Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
So simple, but just the taste I was looking for! I'll be adding this to my holiday favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, as the husband loves "real" cranberry sauce. I followed the recipe exactly, and was impressed with the appearance and texture. The husband ultimately gave it four stars....thought it could have been a bit sweeter. I'll probably use 1/2 C more white sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Much better than canned! This recipe saved Thanksgiving when we forgot to buy canned sauce. Now I'll deliberately skip the processed stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eastham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
DELICIOUS. Made this for Thansgiving and everyone loved it. I loved how easy it was to make! It made a lot and looked beautiful on the table! Will be making it for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This cranberry lover prefers cranberries that are tart and not too sweet. I would use the 1/2 c. white sugar only. The brown sugar overpowered the cranberry flavor, and made the dish too sweet. Neither do I like the brown sugar taste mixed with the cranberry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I selfishly admit that I never bothered with anything other than canned cranberry sauce for the simple reason that I don't like it. But this year I decided to make it myself as something a little special for my husband. He loved it and so did my mom! (Others at the table didn't even try it as they just don't like cranberry sauce either!) I used half orange juice and half water, and because so many reviewers commented that it was a little on the watery side I boiled it for 15 minutes to thicken it. What I found, however, was that once it cooled it really thickened, so 15 minutes was a little too long. My guess is that boiling this for 10 minutes would be just right. This is a beautiful sauce, jewel toned, definitely fresh looking, fresh tasting, and delicious. Best of all, my husband appreciated the extra effort. It was such a snap to put together I now wonder why I never made it until now. I will never buy canned again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was perfect for Thanksgiving. I doubled the recipe and used half water and half OJ. Important to skim all of the foam off, which is easy enough to do when it's boiling. Will definitely make again, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I had to make this recipe twice because using the original proportions it was too watery (we like a chunky cranberry sauce). The second time around I reduced the water by 1/2 cup and added a few extra tablespoons of sugar and then it turned out perfect! Just remember if you want that chunky texture to stir the cranberries as little as possible while cooking so they don't break down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was delicious, but missed five stars because of the excess water in the recipe. I will reduce water to 1 cup and it should be perfect! This will be the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
A perfect recipe for cranberry sauce. The color was divine, the balance of tart and sweet was heavenly. I added a 1/2 cup of OJ and a generous splash of Grand Marnier to mine. My mother (who lives right next door) made hers w/o the OJ and GM and I preferred hers over mine, but mine was fabulous so it was a close call. Five stars all around. No excuse to eat it from a can. Fresh is best and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States